Savannah's Best Marinated Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly as written. Unfortunately, the mushrooms were far too vinegar tasting. I will make again but halve the vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This is the best portobello recipe I've ever tried!! I left out the cooking wine, added dried parsley, and served over warm couscous with tomatoes, green onions, basil, oregano, salt, and pepper in it. My whole family raved about it, including my 3 and 5 year olds. I've just found my recipe for our Valentine's dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
The flavor was kind of sour and not really my cup of tea. I think this was a personal preference type thing though. Feel free to try it if you want. Just know that I wasn't too fond of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Way too vinegary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raymondville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Delicious as a burger! A lot of marinades tend to use so much vinegar it becomes all you can taste. The wine provided a nice balance. I marinated whole caps (using a nice Merlot in place of cooking wine). I also used Tamari in place of Soy - probably not a big difference but it was all I had. All the ingredients were whisked together in a measuring cup and poured inside of the caps. After a while I flipped them briefly to get a little of the marinade on the outside as well. I then grilled the caps with a sprinkling of Gorgonzola, and served them up on a hard roll. My boyfriend had only had portobellos once before and had not been sold on them then. With this recipe he could not stop raving about how delicious they were, "...better than steak" were his exact words.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this last year as a vegetarian option to sandwich meat at the Welcome back luncheon for our teachers. It got rave reviews by vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike. I will be sharing this recipe widely and will definitely use it again. I took the advice of others and used a mid-level wine we had on hand. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvinlif2k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
It was so good my kids even ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I used marsala wine and it turned out great! I used just a touch less vinegar than the recipe called for (about 1 1/2 tablespoons instead of 2). Same for the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Very flavorful, and easy. Next time I will use red table wine, rather than cooking wine, and use a low-sodium soy sauce. I found the dish too salty for my taste. This is definitely a dish worth customizing. I imagine adding a green vegetable and onion to the marinade, perhaps green beans. Tonight I roasted cauliflower, and served cheese garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This recipe is SO so so good! It's become my go-to for perfect shrooms everytime, whether I finish them on the grill for meaty mushroom burgers, or use in a saute, or make baby bella stuffed mushrooms. I follow the recipe but use drinkable red wine and regular soy sauce. After the mushrooms cook, the cooking liquid/marinade is like liquid gold....it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States