Savannah's Best Marinated Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
The flavor was kind of sour and not really my cup of tea. I think this was a personal preference type thing though. Feel free to try it if you want. Just know that I wasn't too fond of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Way too vinegary. Waste of my mushrooms. We ate it, but .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raymondville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Delicious as a burger! A lot of marinades tend to use so much vinegar it becomes all you can taste. The wine provided a nice balance. I marinated whole caps (using a nice Merlot in place of cooking wine). I also used Tamari in place of Soy - probably not a big difference but it was all I had. All the ingredients were whisked together in a measuring cup and poured inside of the caps. After a while I flipped them briefly to get a little of the marinade on the outside as well. I then grilled the caps with a sprinkling of Gorgonzola, and served them up on a hard roll. My boyfriend had only had portobellos once before and had not been sold on them then. With this recipe he could not stop raving about how delicious they were, "...better than steak" were his exact words.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this last year as a vegetarian option to sandwich meat at the Welcome back luncheon for our teachers. It got rave reviews by vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike. I will be sharing this recipe widely and will definitely use it again. I took the advice of others and used a mid-level wine we had on hand. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvinlif2k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
It was so good my kids even ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I used marsala wine and it turned out great! I used just a touch less vinegar than the recipe called for (about 1 1/2 tablespoons instead of 2). Same for the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Very flavorful, and easy. Next time I will use red table wine, rather than cooking wine, and use a low-sodium soy sauce. I found the dish too salty for my taste. This is definitely a dish worth customizing. I imagine adding a green vegetable and onion to the marinade, perhaps green beans. Tonight I roasted cauliflower, and served cheese garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This recipe is SO so so good! It's become my go-to for perfect shrooms everytime, whether I finish them on the grill for meaty mushroom burgers, or use in a saute, or make baby bella stuffed mushrooms. I follow the recipe but use drinkable red wine and regular soy sauce. After the mushrooms cook, the cooking liquid/marinade is like liquid gold....it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Who needs beef when this is available! I do not use alcohol so I had to ask the clerk at liquor store for advice. Don't do that! Just get a mid shelf white wine, not the cheapest you can get. Even with cheeeeep wine this was still very good, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
First time I have ever eaten these and I was really impressed with this recipe. Followed it exactly and WOW. Comes together very quickly and extremely good, had it with brown rice and fresh green beans. Excellent dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States