Savannah's Best Marinated Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
Before cooking it, the recipe lacks basic instructions. The picture shows sliced portobello mushrooms but the recipe doesn't mention slicing the mushroom caps. I don't know if it's supposed to be baked sliced or if the site is taking artistic license just for the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Really good marinade! I grilled them, topped with mozzarella and served on top of fresh spinach leaves. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Mushrooms turned out excellent! Made some slight modifications - instead of soy sauce used Worcestershire Sauce, used Sauvignon Blanc and added some Rosemary. I also added more olive olive than called for to cut down on the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly as written. Unfortunately, the mushrooms were far too vinegar tasting. I will make again but halve the vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This is the best portobello recipe I've ever tried!! I left out the cooking wine, added dried parsley, and served over warm couscous with tomatoes, green onions, basil, oregano, salt, and pepper in it. My whole family raved about it, including my 3 and 5 year olds. I've just found my recipe for our Valentine's dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
The flavor was kind of sour and not really my cup of tea. I think this was a personal preference type thing though. Feel free to try it if you want. Just know that I wasn't too fond of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Way too vinegary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raymondville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Delicious as a burger! A lot of marinades tend to use so much vinegar it becomes all you can taste. The wine provided a nice balance. I marinated whole caps (using a nice Merlot in place of cooking wine). I also used Tamari in place of Soy - probably not a big difference but it was all I had. All the ingredients were whisked together in a measuring cup and poured inside of the caps. After a while I flipped them briefly to get a little of the marinade on the outside as well. I then grilled the caps with a sprinkling of Gorgonzola, and served them up on a hard roll. My boyfriend had only had portobellos once before and had not been sold on them then. With this recipe he could not stop raving about how delicious they were, "...better than steak" were his exact words.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this last year as a vegetarian option to sandwich meat at the Welcome back luncheon for our teachers. It got rave reviews by vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike. I will be sharing this recipe widely and will definitely use it again. I took the advice of others and used a mid-level wine we had on hand. Scrumptious! *** 8/20 - UPDATE *** I am still using this recipe 3 years later and this consistently gets rave reviews by vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike. I just use a mellow, red wine instead of cooking wine. I double the amount and do 4 portobello caps at a time. I re-use the marinade to do another round after taking the tray out of the oven. For in-school sandwich buffets, I slice then refrigerate the mushrooms and serve them close to room temperature on the buffet. Thanks again for sharing! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvinlif2k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
It was so good my kids even ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States