Sauteed Swiss Chard with Parmesan Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Oh, boy! Was this so delicious! I was given two large bunches of organic red Swiss chard and was searching for a good recipe when I came across this one. Since I had so much chard, I needed to double up on the other ingredients. I also had to make some minor changes due to what I had on hand, and took the suggestion of one person to add some bacon. How could I go wrong there?! I chopped about 6 slices of bacon, browned it, drained on paper towels, and reserved about 1/2 Tbs of the drippings. I added the drippings to the butter and EVOO. It made a heavenly concoction! The only wine I had was a good quality dry Marsala. I used it and was delighted with the flavor. I added a heaping tsp of Chicken Base for flavoring. Instead of Parmesan, I had a bit of freshly grated Asiago cheese. The end result was so good, but the next day, I decided to toast some slivered almonds and add them in! Perfection! I am so happy with the results, and there is sooo much of it, I decided to freeze it and contribute it as a vegetable side for Resurrection Sunday! I have a good feeling that the other guests will love this as much as I did! Danny Boy, thank you for this lovely recipe! It stands well enough on its own, yet it lends well to a little creativity and is forgiving if one must make substitutions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
So good and I didn't even have lemon! Next time I'll be better prepared, but I wouldn't hesitate to make it again that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Never made it before, didmt trim it properly, and it was still one of the best things I've eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k80chavez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
First time cooking Swiss Chard. I didn't have white wine so I used red, left out the lemon juice, and added mushrooms... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woollyracer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
First time tasting chard. Only thing I added was a little sprinkle of toasted sesame seed. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
this was our first time making chard and it was sooo good! we bought rainbow chard and the bunch was about half the amount of the regular swiss chard bunches so i halved the recipe.. used white onion in place of the red but followed the rest of the recipe to a T.. served this along side of Spicy Italian Pork Cutlets and Oven Roasted Greek Potatoes (both recipes on this site).. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Beat Swiss chard recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anju

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I didn't even know I liked swiss chard. Someone gave me a whole bunch from their garden. Made this recipe, and liked it so much I made it every day for a week and a half. Delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is the best greens recipe I have ever made. Love the flavors, make this at least once per week even though the swiss chard is expensive (only organic available). I can't wait for growing season, Swiss Chard on top of my list this year because of this recipe. I also have only used yellow onion, I'll try it with red when I have some on hand. Always gets good reviews from my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I bought some rainbow chard at Whole Foods the other day because I had been wanting to try it. Not only is it beautiful, but it has a ton of health benefits, too! This was the first recipe I found, and I happened to have everything on hand, so I gave it a shot. BLOWN AWAY!!! This will be eaten at least twice a week from now on. Absolutely delicious!! The touch of fresh parmesan amps it up to perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States