Sauteed String Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I did this as a side dish and pretty last minute for 14 people. (pressure) i left out all onions. It was just string beans and the Garlic Salt, Garlic Powder, and Pepper. It was amazing, had several people tell me it was the most suprising part of the dish. Plus, it was very easy to make! Totally recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Not having cocktail onions I substituted some sweet red peppers - WOW my anti-vegetable family ate the whole thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I needed something different for fresh string beans and this seemed easy enough. I liked sauteeing the beans and the garlic powder was good, although I think I will use fresh diced garlic next time. My husband didn't like the flavor from the cocktail onions, I think since it's mostly vinegar! I thought it added a little punch without being overly powerful, but next time I will try the onions themselves without the liquid. Overall, we enjoyed this for a simple, but different way to eat the same old (but yummy) side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Wonderful dish. We gobbled them up. I omitted the onions and added lots of grated parmesan. The parmesan was a delicious touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Excellent. My husband doesn't like string beans, now he says, " are you gonna make the string beans the new way?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tatiana
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
So easy to make yet absolutely delicious. I replaced the cocktail onions, with a quarter cup of white onions. Served over rice for a quick lunch. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tatiana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I didn't add any of the onions, but added parmesan cheese before serving and it was awesome! Thank you for the idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I make these all the time. I substitute red pepper strips for the marinated onions, though. More color and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I will try this next time without the marinated cocktail onions. It was a bit too much vinegar tasting for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
the best part about this is the fresh beans. the cocktail onions are to much, they over power the rest of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States