Sauteed Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I needed to modify the original recipe, I added white wine and added Lime Oil to the butter so it wouldn't burn. I also added lemon pepper and crazy salt. Served with Sauteed Onion/Zucchini with wilted spinach with garlic. Very tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REMEDIOSA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Love, love, loved it! Used sea scallops and shrimp. Both were out of this world. I also did the baked scallop recipe so we had a delicious mixture of both versions for dinner. (Also, having scallops sautéed in butter can sometimes feel too heavy if eaten alone.). i appreciated the hint from the other reviewer to add a little olive oil to the butter mixture so you can get the butter temperature really hot without burning the butter. The hotter the sauté, the better the scallops lock in their juices. Used the cast iron skillet, too. Also I sautéed garlic and rosemary in the butter/oil for couple minutes before adding scallops and shrimp. A delicious treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I would change this recipe to start with only 2 tablespoons of butter plus the crushed garlic and spice. Add the scallops when the pan is hot, searing them a golden brown on both sides. (If I had read the other reviews first, I would have then added a half cup of rice wine, to loosen brown bits, then added the rest of the butter). I didn't have rosemary, so I used fresh basil from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I liked the rosemary here, something I've never used with scallops. Its flavor was very subtle, however, so next time I might consider using even more. Clarified butter (or adding a little olive oil to the butter) helps ensure against it burning when sautéing at a relatively high heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I seasoned almost as written, except for the rosemary only because I didn't have any. I also didn't remove the garlic from the pan when complete, but removed the scallops. They were delicious. I also prepared them over a high heat that I think locks the juices in. You just have to be careful to not over cook them. Also, it's very important to wash (rinse) the scallops if you buy Sea Scallops like I did. Overall, I gave this five stars because this is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara King
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very good! I used big sea scallops, rinsed and dried, then coated with olive oil, sea salt and pepper. Cat iron skillet heated then added butter, rosemary and garlic. Cooked for a minute and added scallops....was very pleased! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Easy and delicious! Used dry rosemary instead of fresh, worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I'm eating it right now. It's amazing. I used 2 HUGE cloves of garlic (the size of 5 normal ones), 4 large sprigs of rosemary (I like a lot of herbs), and a crapton of olive oil, and a dash of butter. My tastebuds are doing cartwheels while singing the 'halleluja' chorus. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Osos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Scallops and Arugula with Lentils and Butter Bea

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States