Sauteed Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Nothing great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
My "foodie" husband who is mega picky absolutely raved about this dish! I'm all for any delicious recipe that is ready in less than 10 minutes and has no more than 4 ingredients, bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Venice Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
We loved it! I added sautéed mushrooms and shallots that were cooked in a different pan. Recommend drying scallops after rinsing them in a paper towel to eliminate excess water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Loved it. I made the recipe the same as posted and add the scollops to angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Surprisingly good. I added olive oil as others suggested, but kept everything else the same. Will make again for sure! I just loved how quick and simple it was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I needed to modify the original recipe, I added white wine and added Lime Oil to the butter so it wouldn't burn. I also added lemon pepper and crazy salt. Served with Sauteed Onion/Zucchini with wilted spinach with garlic. Very tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REMEDIOSA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Love, love, loved it! Used sea scallops and shrimp. Both were out of this world. I also did the baked scallop recipe so we had a delicious mixture of both versions for dinner. (Also, having scallops sautéed in butter can sometimes feel too heavy if eaten alone.). i appreciated the hint from the other reviewer to add a little olive oil to the butter mixture so you can get the butter temperature really hot without burning the butter. The hotter the sauté, the better the scallops lock in their juices. Used the cast iron skillet, too. Also I sautéed garlic and rosemary in the butter/oil for couple minutes before adding scallops and shrimp. A delicious treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I would change this recipe to start with only 2 tablespoons of butter plus the crushed garlic and spice. Add the scallops when the pan is hot, searing them a golden brown on both sides. (If I had read the other reviews first, I would have then added a half cup of rice wine, to loosen brown bits, then added the rest of the butter). I didn't have rosemary, so I used fresh basil from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I liked the rosemary here, something I've never used with scallops. Its flavor was very subtle, however, so next time I might consider using even more. Clarified butter (or adding a little olive oil to the butter) helps ensure against it burning when sautéing at a relatively high heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I seasoned almost as written, except for the rosemary only because I didn't have any. I also didn't remove the garlic from the pan when complete, but removed the scallops. They were delicious. I also prepared them over a high heat that I think locks the juices in. You just have to be careful to not over cook them. Also, it's very important to wash (rinse) the scallops if you buy Sea Scallops like I did. Overall, I gave this five stars because this is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wenzel Soliday

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broiled Scallops

Try these incredibly easy broiled scallops in a butter and lemon sauce.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States