Sauteed Rice with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I made this side dish tonight to have with broiled Tilapia. I was so glad I did...it was easy to make and tasted very good. Because I'm the first person to rate this recipe, I had no other reviewers suggestions to go on...so I made it exactly as directed. I usually look over other reviews and decide from the start what I'm going to add or delete to the recipe. Maybe that's not always a good plan as I prepared this one as directed and it was perfect! I enjoyed knowing there were so many fresh veggies in this, and because of that, it tasted so fresh and healthy. I plan to make this one over and over again and save it to My Recipes. The next time I plan to sprinkle some toasted cashews on top just before serving to take it over the top. Thanks BramptonMommyof2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
My wife and I have wanted to make Kale for awhile now to see if we would like it. So I found this recipe and WOW, we love it! So easy to make and so much flavor. Every component marries together so well. I sliced everything REALLY thin so that it almost disappears while sauteing but the flavor is there. I just added chicken breast to the dish and it was fantastic. I highly recommend this to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was so tasty, the only thing I did different was that I sauteed the kale with the other vegetables instead of steaming it separately. Perfect side dish to incorporate veggies for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I was looking for something I could prep ahead of time for weeknight company. I chopped all of my veggies and cooked the rice the night before, and cubed and sauteed 2 chicken breasts with some garlic salt and pepper. The day of, it was just a matter of cooking the veggies and throwing in the chicken and rice long enough to heat through. Very easy and quite delicious. This would be fabulous with tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I never cooked/ate kale before,I made it tonight and added some soy sauce. It was great, but I wonder how can I make it less dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
We loved this recipe, but I did change a couple of things. Since I really wanted a kale recipe, I thought 1 cup would not be enough, so I chopped 4 cups. It cooked down to about 1 cup, so perhaps that was what the author intended. It did not taste strongly of "greens", so it wasn't too much. The other things I changed was to use cooked brown rice instead of white. And since I had no mushrooms, I omitted them. The result was a hearty, flavorful side dish that went beautifully with grilled mahi mahi and asparagus for dinner. I served the Sauteed Rice with Kale with a choice of soy sauce or Parmesan Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Really good! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is great! I had leftover rice that I needed to use and a bunch of kale and this was perfect! I love the hint of heat from the cayenne! I didn't have mustard powder so I used a little prepared dijon and it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Loved it! I had kale in my refrigerator b/c of my son-in law and I wanted to try it. I was a little afraid, but the reviews for this recipe gave me courage. We did not have one morsel left. We served it with soy sauce (not everyone used it) and this helped for those who thought I could have gone a little lighter on the cayenne pepper. I used canned mushrooms, small peppers, 2 sweet onion, 2 cloves of garlic, celery, and steamed my kale in the microwave. I only had about 3/4 Cup of rice in the fridge so we went with that and added some left over turkey to make it a meal. My fears about the strong taste of kale were unfounded. Yummy.. Yummy. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I have been wanting to try kale but wanted to do so with flavors I already know I like. This was super delicious, and made the house smell good. I wish I took a picture to post because mine looked more heavily weighted with vegetables versus rice (I'll do it next time). I also may try this with brown rice (the downfall to that is that it takes longer too cook). I would definitely make this for guests and/or a pot luck. The only thing is I would say is it's not quite 6 servings (maybe if served 1/2 cup - or less - each), but my husband, daughter and I ate it all at dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethissite

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States