Sauteed Navy Beans and Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2007
very yummy! didn't get 4 servings, unless it was supposed to be a side item. also, i'm not a fan of the whole dish being the same color, so i added some chopped fresh parsley. the flavors were good & it was super easy! i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
It is surprisingly very good! I didn't think the flavors would blend well, but they did. Only problem was that the garlic burned (maybe I had the oil too hot), but otherwise very good and very filling. Even my husband liked it and he'd never had artichokes before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Quick and easy. Boyfriend loved it. I skipped the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This was a different recipe. We love beans and artichokes, but something about this didn't turn out right. The beans were mush and the dish tasted very pickled possibly because the artichokes were marinated. I was able to eat what I put on my plate, but hubby couldn't. I threw is away. Possibly non-marinated artichokes would work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I reduced the oil, substituted in red pepper flakes, used plain artichokes (not marinated) and left out the cheese. The dip was pretty good, I will make this again. The red pepper was key. And I think lemon juice would help also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Good flavor but my can beans never got crisp. In fact, they turned to mush as I expected they would. Canned beans hold too much moisture and are already too soft to pull any kind of "crisp" off. Like I said, the flavor is good but I think the only way to pull this off successfully is to cook up some dried beans beforehand, under cook them a bit, and let them drain really really well before you ever begin. I saw some complaints about the marinated artichokes but this is what I used and I have no complaints there at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
It was pretty good. In the future I'll probably only use half of the artichokes and scale back the garlic because they tend to overwhelm the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I really liked this. I was looking for something different, and something I already had in the house.Next time i won't use so much of the red ground pepper. My child's father state it was good but it was too much artichokes in it, so next time i think i will use two cans instead of one. I also use parmesan instead of romano since I already had that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States