Sauteed Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Made this for thanksgiving I tripled the recipe and it was a big hit. I used much less butter and bacon grease
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
These were good except for just a couple issues. One.. the almonds burned. Two.. the only time it states a temperature is in the first step while cooking bacon. To remedy I would suggest the following: Cook the bacon and remove from skillet. Add the butter and the almonds. When almonds are golden brown, remove them and add the beans to the bacon drippings/butter mixture. Reduce to medium heat to cook the beans and stir them often. Crumble the bacon when it's cool enough to do so. Add bacon and almonds back into the skillet for the last two or three minutes of cooking (to reheat them). I will definitely make this again with the above modification. Very tasty and easy to make and everyone liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starla Wicks-Heath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
We use the recipe for a lot of veggies including broccoli and even brussel sprouts. We added 1/4 cup chopped onion sauteed with the bacon. It adds that extra umph that was missing the first time we tried the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
loved the smell and the guests and hubby loved it as well. Great recipe, I did use fresh green beans instead and added potatoes, and it was just great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This recipe was tasty and very easy to make, but it was a little soggy. In the future, I will probably add some breadcrumbs to give it some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Summit, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Husband loved them..I used half the butter and half the bacon grease. Not bad..I followed others advise and waited to put in the almonds, and mine I felt were undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I thought this turned out to be a great dish. I followed other suggestions by adding onions when cooking the bacon. I also drained some of the bacon grease and did not add the butter as I felt the grease was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This review and rating is for the recipe as is. There is no need for added fat. If you add the almonds when instructed, they will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was good. I used boring old canned green beans and it changed them. Being from Louisiana, I also sauted fresh garlic and added Creole Seasoning to the beans while they were cooking. Next time, I would like to add shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I used fresh green beans and cooked them a little longer and they came out fine! I didn't use the 1/4 c butter, but did put a pat of butter at the end of cooking (I thought the bacon drippings were enough to cook them in). Husband thought they were VERY good! (me too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyE10

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States