Sauteed Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I used Tania's suggestion and made this recipe with sundried tomatoes and feta. It was really great and my hubby really enjoyed. I made it healthier by omitting the bacon and butter. I simply sprayed the pan with a bit of olive oil, sauteed garlic and almonds, added green beans and then tossed in the sundried tomatoes when almost done. I cooled and then added some really fresh, good quality feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
To make it healthier I left out most of the bacon grease and butter which I'm sure compromised the flavor, but they were still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
These are wonderful. I also added garlic as suggested. I used the cooked bacon that you buy and it only gives you a minimal amount of bacon grease and then added the butter. Every family member enjoyed them and I have some picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
very good. made for thanksgiving and was asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandym

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Who knew green beans would have so much flavor! These were delicious. I did drain most of the bacon grease off, though. Adding butter is plenty. Also added my almonds nearer to the end. This is by no means meant for a fat-free diet. But, will make these again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was good, but I highly recommend dumping the bacon grease and not using it to cook the beans in, like the others suggested also. The butter alone is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Very yummy. Definitely drain off the bacon grease or skip the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was incredible! I generally dislike frozen veggie, but I ate two helpings of these. I added garlic during the saute part. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Skip the butter, with the bacon fat it was way too much grease. In fact, when the left over was stored in the fridge you could see the hardened grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Great flavor with the bacon, onion and almonds. I agree to cut out most of the bacon grease. It's not necessary. I used french cut green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States