Sauteed Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
We added a little onion to the pan to sautee with the bacon, used fresh green beans, and added some seasoning salt, and these were delicious! We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Made this one tonight to go with ham...made exactly as written except that I used a bag of frozen whole string beans. First of all, I feel that there was way too much butter in this...the bacon drippings already add enough fat/moisture. Mostly though, my issue was the almonds. I added them at the time that was directed...and they burned (and I only had the burner on the '2' setting)...so I suggest adding the almonds in at the very end (maybe toasting them in the toaster oven first). So pretty much just reduce the butter significantly & add the almonds at the very end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Who knew green beans would have so much flavor! These were delicious. I did drain most of the bacon grease off, though. Adding butter is plenty. Also added my almonds nearer to the end. This is by no means meant for a fat-free diet. But, will make these again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
These were good except for just a couple issues. One.. the almonds burned. Two.. the only time it states a temperature is in the first step while cooking bacon. To remedy I would suggest the following: Cook the bacon and remove from skillet. Add the butter and the almonds. When almonds are golden brown, remove them and add the beans to the bacon drippings/butter mixture. Reduce to medium heat to cook the beans and stir them often. Crumble the bacon when it's cool enough to do so. Add bacon and almonds back into the skillet for the last two or three minutes of cooking (to reheat them). I will definitely make this again with the above modification. Very tasty and easy to make and everyone liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starla Wicks-Heath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This has now replaced the same old green bean casserole at our thanksgiving. I use fresh green beans and par boil them first, and I use sliced almonds instead of slivered. They stick to the beans better instead of falling to the bottom of the plate. These are the best green beans EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
love this recipe. have been making it for years for thanksgiving (served warm) & summer meals (served cold). I also add sundried tomatoes and feta cheese to it which really gives it zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paola, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I do not know what all these other people are talking about - this recipe was AWESOME. I made it exactly the way the recipe called for. I had two helping and couldn't stop eating it. I might add onions next time, but this dish was wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Loved this! I used peppered bacon. Yum. Next time I won't use so much of the bacon grease though. I like my veggies to have a more fresher taste. They were coated a little to much (with the grease) for my taste. Should have strained the grease off before putting in their serving tray. Will make again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I made this once for a family dinner and now I am the official green bean maker for holiday dinners. Everyone loved this recipe. I do substitute regular bacon with turkey bacon and I do add fresh garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
this was delicious. i made it for my family for thanksgiving and they all absolutely loved it. i used canned green beans though, but that worked out fine and i just left it on the stove on low and let it simmer stirring occasionally and it turned out great. highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States