Sauteed Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
OMG I so loved this. I am not sure How many pieces of bacon I used and I didn't use the almonds due to an allergy of my guest, but that be said it was soooo gbod. I did add the greens of garden onions it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Tasted great but I'll be using a little less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I have made this recipe before but I used water chestnuts instead of almonds, was a big hit with the family. Will serve it again this Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
okay, so I wasn't able to follow the recipe to a tee (seeing as how I didn't have any slivered almonds on hand), but it still turned out oh so good! That, and I added a lil red crushed pepper towards the very end of cooking, which added just enough spice to the green beans! My boyfriend raved over these beans! Definetly going to make again! YUMMY!! thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souza'sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is totally "lick-the-pan" good, but not without a little adjustment. First of all, depending on your preference, I'd definitely either drain the bacon grease or omit the butter (I choose to omit the butter). I am guessing it's in there for sauteing the beans, but I found that I can still get a really tastey dish by precooking the beans and then tossing them together with the bacon and almond mixture just to coat everything nicely. I've been doing this with green and wax beans from the garden and the colors and flavors in this dish are amazing. I can also see playing with the basic idea and perhaps trying some garlic or onion in the saute or stirring in some other diced garden veggies (yellow or zucchini squash, tomato perhaps) along with the green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Very good. I used fresh green beans and cooked them until aldente. This is a lovely dish and nice to treat your family. Thanks for sharing, Bev
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Yummy! Instead of using real butter I used Smart Balance butter substitue. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I know ppl hate when you change the orignal recipe but this is how I share without having to get my recipe posted. So, here it is: follow directions listed, but drain 3/4 of bacon grease and in the final minute or two add 2-3 tbl spoons of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This turned out great! I made it with Potatoes Au Grautin and Spicy Grilled Chicken. All I needed was a homeade dinner roll and the meal would have been complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was okay - the dish looks beautiful but didn't have a ton of flavor. I reheated it the next day and it actually tasted better the next day! I might try to make it again and use more bacon to get more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States