Sauteed Garlic Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I saute asparagus all the time, but to make this recipie into a 5* I use olive oil that will not burn so easily, a tbsp. of balsamic vinegar and a tbsp. of minced garlic and don't cover it as it'll get soggy. I use a teflon frying pan and stir fry/toss it for 3 - 4 minutes. When it's ready, I sprinkle with fresh grated parmasen cheese, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2865 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
The recipe is all right however it forgets to address one major focal point of vegetable cookery. Now of course this is an option and not required however I would first blanch the asparagus because sauteed asparagus has an unattractive brown tint to it. To blanch; bring a pot of water to a boil and season with salt. Prep a large mixing bowl(size varies on quantity) fill with ice and cold water. Place asparagus in boiling water for about a minute then remove and put in ice. Let it sit for a few minutes and then remove, pat dry - then saute. Good Luck & more importantly have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
With a few minor tweaks this recipe is a total winner. There's no need for 3 tablespoons of butter. 1 and a half was just fine... just enough to coat the asparagus. Also, the cooking time was a bit long. If you like asparagus a bit more firm and crisp, I would reduce the cooking time to about 7 minutes. 10 made it a little too mushy. But I will and have made this many times over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Ramey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartley, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This is so good! The only way I cook asparagus now! It is a helpful hint though: don't leave the asparagus while its cooking! Depending on how thick it is, it could be done rather quickly. Instead, rely on the color: a minute or two after it turns bright bright green and right before it starts to brown is when it is perfect (we like ours semi-crisp). I also add a splash of white wine maybe 1 1/2 minutes before it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
451 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corbin, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I use olive oil in lieu of butter/margarine and, to make it a little quicker/easier, I use garlic from a jar and a dash of sea salt to really bring out the flavor! One of my favs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
easy and tasty way to prepare asparagus. I like the change from steamed. However, a tip when you saute asparagus that wasn't mentioned in the recipe - the smaller (thinner) the stalk the better it is for sauteing. Larger stalks are better suited for steaming. And 10 minutes I found much too long, since the butter needs to heat up quite high to saute I think 10 minutes would of burned it or the garlic. I sauted for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Almont, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Used olive oil instead of butter. Chopped asparagus into bite-sized pieces and added a handful of shrimp to the mix. Served with pasta. Quick. Easy. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I added some White Wine & followed everyhting else to the letter. My guests raved all night about this recipe. Thanks. This is truly divine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This is how I fix green beans. It never occurred to me to try it with asparagus. Thank you. This was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This review is from hubby. I do not like asparagus so I couldn't touch the stuff. On the other hand, hubby ate the entire bunch. He loved it. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

This easy technique makes asparagus tangy and savory. Enjoy!

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States