Sauteed Garlic Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I saute asparagus all the time, but to make this recipie into a 5* I use olive oil that will not burn so easily, a tbsp. of balsamic vinegar and a tbsp. of minced garlic and don't cover it as it'll get soggy. I use a teflon frying pan and stir fry/toss it for 3 - 4 minutes. When it's ready, I sprinkle with fresh grated parmasen cheese, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2787 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
The recipe is all right however it forgets to address one major focal point of vegetable cookery. Now of course this is an option and not required however I would first blanch the asparagus because sauteed asparagus has an unattractive brown tint to it. To blanch; bring a pot of water to a boil and season with salt. Prep a large mixing bowl(size varies on quantity) fill with ice and cold water. Place asparagus in boiling water for about a minute then remove and put in ice. Let it sit for a few minutes and then remove, pat dry - then saute. Good Luck & more importantly have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
With a few minor tweaks this recipe is a total winner. There's no need for 3 tablespoons of butter. 1 and a half was just fine... just enough to coat the asparagus. Also, the cooking time was a bit long. If you like asparagus a bit more firm and crisp, I would reduce the cooking time to about 7 minutes. 10 made it a little too mushy. But I will and have made this many times over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartley, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This is so good! The only way I cook asparagus now! It is a helpful hint though: don't leave the asparagus while its cooking! Depending on how thick it is, it could be done rather quickly. Instead, rely on the color: a minute or two after it turns bright bright green and right before it starts to brown is when it is perfect (we like ours semi-crisp). I also add a splash of white wine maybe 1 1/2 minutes before it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
440 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corbin, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I use olive oil in lieu of butter/margarine and, to make it a little quicker/easier, I use garlic from a jar and a dash of sea salt to really bring out the flavor! One of my favs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
318 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
easy and tasty way to prepare asparagus. I like the change from steamed. However, a tip when you saute asparagus that wasn't mentioned in the recipe - the smaller (thinner) the stalk the better it is for sauteing. Larger stalks are better suited for steaming. And 10 minutes I found much too long, since the butter needs to heat up quite high to saute I think 10 minutes would of burned it or the garlic. I sauted for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Almont, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Used olive oil instead of butter. Chopped asparagus into bite-sized pieces and added a handful of shrimp to the mix. Served with pasta. Quick. Easy. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I added some White Wine & followed everyhting else to the letter. My guests raved all night about this recipe. Thanks. This is truly divine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This is how I fix green beans. It never occurred to me to try it with asparagus. Thank you. This was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This review is from hubby. I do not like asparagus so I couldn't touch the stuff. On the other hand, hubby ate the entire bunch. He loved it. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

This easy technique makes asparagus tangy and savory. Enjoy!

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States