Sausages in Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Very good! I decreased the water to 2 cups and used ketchup as recommended from others. That seemed to work perfect. Thick gravy and not watery. I added a few spoonfuls of sour cream at the end. Very good. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Yum! Perfect easy supper. I had to substiture a couple of cans of chicken broth for the water and beef oxo cubes but it was still a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I had to substitute a few ingredients to avoid going to the store, but I think I still got the spirit of this recipe! We had mild Italian chicken sausage, so I used that. It was pre-cooked, so I skipped boiling it first. I fried the onion with a pinch of salt, a grind or two of pepper, and a bit of sugar. I let it carmelize, deglazing it with water, used chicken stock instead of water and bouillon, And I had to use diced tomato, not tomato sauce. I didn't add any salt except what I put in the onion. The flavor was good, but it was more like broth than gravy. Next time I'll add less water/broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I substituted the pork sausages with Beef ones, used liquid beef stock instead of the water and cubes, and added frozen corn kernels at the end, and my 4yo daughter is STILL saying yum now! Definitely a hit with the kids, fussy husband is sure to enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
The gravy gets 4 stars - savory, delicious and quick and easy to make. My problem was with the sausages I used - they were gristly and not very flavorsome. Shame. I omitted the salt because I knew the beef bouillon granules would be salty enough. Also, I used some tomato ketchup because I didn't want to open an entire can of sauce for just for 2 tbsp. I will try this again with different sausage. Thanks, Marianne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
My husband loved this recipe. I put it over wild rice, but I think I will try the biscuits next time. The one thing that I did add to this was a splash of Sherry and it was a huge hit. The Sherry goes so well with the onions and sausage...it really compliments the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This recipe was okay to me. I wished that I'd doubled the gravy ingredients. I served mine over mashed potatoes yet the combination made the whole mixture too salty for my family. Will be again but will find ways to cut corners on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenwarriorprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
very simple to put together, with a very nice flavor. quite different from what I normally cook. I used this as a gravy for Toads-in-the-Hole I on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
YUM, I changed it to beef once and it was a big big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Easy recipe and very good. I replaced the regular sausage with lower in fat turkey sausage. This recipe is perfect for it because it covers the usually unusual taste of turkey sausage. Family loved it and there was plenty of left overs, perfect for freezing portions and reheating later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States