Sausages in Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This turned out to be one of those meals when I was sad to be full. Terrific! I didn't have Worcestershire sauce, so I used tamari, added a splash of scotch, four chopped mushrooms, and 1/8 tsp of chili powder for a little kick. I used gluten-free flour for my hubby. Oh, and ketchup instead of tomato sauce, since so many reviews said that worked and was easier. Like others, I found 2 C of water worked well; even with the reduction, I ended up using some additional corn starch and simmering it longer to make the gravy thicker. We had this over home-grown potatoes, mashed, with broccoli on the side. We are all feeling full and cozy and ready to hunker down for a comfortable Sunday afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Not a bad recipe for a quick weeknight supper or even a super busy weekend night. I used honey garlic sausages and it actually worked well with the added 2 red peppers in this recipe.Also i reversed the steps by mistake but that wasn't a major disaster. I actually boiled my sausages and then fried them and put aside.Then made the gravy with the pan dripping and put that aside.Fried up the onion and peppers and then added the sausages and sauce and just warmed everything up.Served with boiled nugget potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
As recommended I used ketchup for the tomato sauce and added some sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was an easy, delicous main dish that tastes like meatballs in a hearty savory sauce. I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Hubby doesn't usually like sausage let alone ones that are peeled and chopped up. I am pleased to say that he actually liked this recipe. I used ketchup so the next time I will try it will tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elliot Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Copper Cliff, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
ive made this twice. both times added bell pepers and a little crushed red pepper. it was gone really quick. its good with rice or noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This was not what I expected. I was very disappointed. It was ok, but I had to add garlic to spice it up. The whole family just thought it was ok, but not a keeper. I definately would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtecgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
this is amazing just grind it a bit after and add some mash potato then it the best in the world
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Easy, tasty 'comfort food'! Like others, used broth - 2cups, v.s. water. Also Italian sausage & left on the casing(pers. choice). Optional: Stir in a little of your favorite frozen veggies. Also great as leftover. Just make a little more. This from a 'novice, retired guy cook'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States