Sausage 'n Stout Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Agree with the others that it was too thin and needed more potatos. Also does not need salt added. Sausage has enough salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This is a great recipe! I did make a couple of adjustments: I browned the kielbasa a bit to start; instead of green onions, I used a regular yellow onion that I sauteed a bit; I used chicken stock instead of plain water; and I used one Cider Beer and one Guinness. I think next time I will add some carrots, celery, and a bit more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
The taste is very nice, but it's too thin and the cheese does that funky thing that cheese does when added without a roux. This is a great idea, but it's worth the time to find a beer-cheese soup with a roux, at least for me, in the future. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This had a good flavor, but the broth looked weird because the beer, cheese, and milk did not mix well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
While this was a great addition to my recipe box and very easy to make, I have to say...4 potatoes? Not enough ;-) Lots of liquids and sausage, lots of great flavor. But not very filling. There really could and easily be, more potatoes to the sausage ratio. I can see adding an additional 4 potatoes to this recipe, then it would be more filling. I wouldn't change anything else but adding my suggestion of potatoes. This is a keeper. Just disappointed that it isn't more hardy and filling as submitter suggests. Just don't waive on the flavor. It's spot on with spices. And makes a wonderful broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
First time I tried this recipe, I prepared it per directions and ended up with something much thinner and less pleasing than desired. Second time around (and making a double recipe!) I made the following changes: 4 lbs red potatoes peeled and 1/4 inch diced, 16 oz sour cream, an extra beer and 1/4 c flour. Get the 4 lbs potatoes, 3 qt water, and 4 beers going per directions. Put the extra beer in a large pan and reduce over medium heat to half. Add chopped kielbasa, stir, and simmer for 10-15 min. Pour beer/sausage into bowl, return pan to med-high heat, drain the sausage reserving the liquid, then add 1/4 of the sausage at a time to the pan for a 3-5 minute sear. After searing, transfer sausage to pot with beer, potatoes and water. Add remainder of ingredients, including the cheese but not the milk per recipe. Take large pan, put back on med heat and deglaze with reserved liquid. Whisk in 1/4 flour until combined then add 1 qt milk in 1 cup increments until smooth (heat the milk in the microwave for 5-6 min on high). Cook this roux for 15 min over med heat until thickened. Add to pot and stir until smooth. Put 1 lb of sour cream in large bowl, temper with 2-3 cups of the soup broth then add to pot. Stir to mix then enjoy. I made approximately two gallons with this recipe for a fundraiser and it was all gone in 30 minutes with many seconds-seekers turned away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This soup was incredibly delicious! I added a few shakes of Tabasco Sauce to give it a bit more kick and served it with Hawaiian bread on the side. I just wish that I had realized before I made it that the original recipe serves 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Soup was not what I was expecting to make. It is far to brothy. If you want a creamy and thick cheese soup than you need to look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was a great soup and pretty easy to make, although I halved the recipe because I only had 1 lb of kielbasa. My husband raved about it! I added about 1/2 tsp each of garlic powder and onion powder (would recommend 1 tsp each for a full recipe), and increased the black pepper because I always use more pepper than called for. I also used 1/2 a yellow onion instead of the green onions because it was all I had -- it boiled down nicely into the soup. If you love potatoes, don't be afraid to use as many as you'd like to make it a chunky, hearty soup. Experiment with different types of beer to adjust the flavor -- I used my family's standard cooking beer, Pabst Blue Ribbon. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I followed this recipe to the letter, and wasn't super pleased with the results. The soup needed more, maybe celery, onions and/or peppers, and more potatoes. It was too thin and brothy, even after the addition of the cheese and milk. Overall, very boring. If I make this again, I'll definitely make some additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States