Sausage and Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This is, hands down, the BEST soup I've ever eaten. The only change I made was that I used a package of sweet italian sausage instead of the sausage in the recipe. I will definitely be making more of this soup. I hope it freezes well because I will really enjoy it on a cold, winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsWolfie
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
My family loved this. It was even better the next day. The zucchini was such a nice change of pace and the carrots had that wonderful 'soup stock' taste. Would most definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This soup was really tasty. The sausage was nice and the soup came together really quickly. Served with garlic toast. Great for a cold day. And the leftovers reheated very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by Cathy Myers
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
We really enjoyed this soup with crusty bread for lunch. I needed to make a few changes due to the unavailability of the smoked Johnsonville sausage at my market. I used Jville hot Italian sausage, homemade chicken stock and Italian fava beans instead of zucchini, as I had none. Very good! Would I make it again? Yes, definitely. Love Jville products!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Photo by KristinPotPie
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This was a delicious quick weeknight soup! I used fresh green beans instead of zucchini to suit the tastes of my family and I loved how it turned out. The soup is versatile that way - you could add any vegetables that you like. The pieces of sausage were a bit small so I think I would cut them bigger next time - only cutting them in half first (not into fourths) and then dice. Overall a winner though! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristinPotPie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was a great soup! I used a spinach and chicken ravioli instead of the tortellini and I forgot to put in the zucchini. Oops! We will definitely be making this one again. Next time we'll just cut the sausage pieces in half instead of quarters, I wanted bigger pieces in my bites. We served this with a fresh salad and a crusty bread. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I had this for lunch, and it was great. The weather is finally turning into the perfect weather for soup. The Johnsonville sausage really made this soup exceptional. I'm glad I have enough of this for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by Jenny Aleman
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is a great soup for fall, it makes a perfect comfort food. I used Johnsonville's Smoked Sausages as I thought using the ones with cheese would make the soup to cheesy and provably a little bit oily. I added just one table spoon of olive oil to add flavor, the sausages are oily enough to stir fry the onion, garlic and carrots. I added the tomatoes and seasoned them with the mix for two minutes. The rest it's the same from the original recipe. My family and I really enjoyed it and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Diana Mc
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This soup is so simply to make in a very short time. It is very tasty. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Good fall soup! I used Johnsonville Smoked Sausage, and I feel that using the Italian flavored sausage would be a better choice, flavor-wise. The smoked sausage has a meaty taste in the soup, but it doesn't add a flavor "kick" like a different selection would. I omitted the olive oil, because heating the sausage in the pan released more than enough drippings to saute the veggies, as I suspected it might. As a matter of fact, it was just a bit oily tasting, even, with no added oil. Other than that, I found the cooking times to be accurate, and it filled my 6 quart pot, so there are lefties for lunch! My only change was to use Italian style diced tomatoes. There is no need for any added salt, in my opinion, because the canned items have quite enough, and then some, for the veggies. This is a hearty soup that comes together quickly, once the prep is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States