Sausage and Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was a great soup! I used a spinach and chicken ravioli instead of the tortellini and I forgot to put in the zucchini. Oops! We will definitely be making this one again. Next time we'll just cut the sausage pieces in half instead of quarters, I wanted bigger pieces in my bites. We served this with a fresh salad and a crusty bread. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I had this for lunch, and it was great. The weather is finally turning into the perfect weather for soup. The Johnsonville sausage really made this soup exceptional. I'm glad I have enough of this for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by Jenny Aleman
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is a great soup for fall, it makes a perfect comfort food. I used Johnsonville's Smoked Sausages as I thought using the ones with cheese would make the soup to cheesy and provably a little bit oily. I added just one table spoon of olive oil to add flavor, the sausages are oily enough to stir fry the onion, garlic and carrots. I added the tomatoes and seasoned them with the mix for two minutes. The rest it's the same from the original recipe. My family and I really enjoyed it and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Diana Mc
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This soup is so simply to make in a very short time. It is very tasty. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Good fall soup! I used Johnsonville Smoked Sausage, and I feel that using the Italian flavored sausage would be a better choice, flavor-wise. The smoked sausage has a meaty taste in the soup, but it doesn't add a flavor "kick" like a different selection would. I omitted the olive oil, because heating the sausage in the pan released more than enough drippings to saute the veggies, as I suspected it might. As a matter of fact, it was just a bit oily tasting, even, with no added oil. Other than that, I found the cooking times to be accurate, and it filled my 6 quart pot, so there are lefties for lunch! My only change was to use Italian style diced tomatoes. There is no need for any added salt, in my opinion, because the canned items have quite enough, and then some, for the veggies. This is a hearty soup that comes together quickly, once the prep is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I can not rave enough about this soup, I'd give it 10 stars if I could! It is the perfect fall meal that you can make for your family even after a long day at work, it's so simple...but oh so good! I followed another reviewers advice and used the Johnsonville 3 cheese Italian Style Chicken Sausage, but I still used the beef consommé, and added in some celery. It was so delicious, served it with a loaf of crusty garlic rosemary bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QHHUNTERS
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Perfect fall soup! Husband approved! I used the New Orleans sausage, which gave a nice rich flavor to the soup. This recipe is now part of my recipe box favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written and it was delicious! I have made similar soups in the past but using the Johnsonville smoked sausage made this one stand apart. You could taste the richness and depth of flavor in every single bite. If I had one critique it would be that the it was a bit oily. The next time I make this I will saute the onions, carrots, and garlic with the sausage which should yield enough grease without having to add the olive oil. This soup was packed full of flavor and left a lasting impression!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
We loved this soup! To help keep it figure friendly, I used Johnsonville 3- cheese Italian Style Chicken Sausage (which is delicious) and subbed chicken stock for the beef consomme. I added mushrooms and instead of adding the sausage with the onion, carrots, garlic I waited and added it with the tomatoes to keep that lovely cheese from burning in the bottom of the pan. This way, when the cheese did ooze out, it went straight into the broth. Thanks for a great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States