Sausage and Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was a great quick soup base. I did add celery and a bit of garlic to the soup base, then at the end I added some fresh tortellini, then topped it off with some fresh parmesan and a bit of crushed red pepper for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This soup is great! My 3 year old even liked it. I didn't have Italian sausage, but regular old pork sausage and it was delicious. Added celery and green peppers, I'm sure it would have been just as good without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I used veggie broth instead of chicken, added chopped celery, and cooked everything in the crock pot (cut up the sausage at the end). Also added cooked pasta right before serving. I followed a previous reviewer's suggestion of baby spinach in the bowl instead of cooking it with the soup, and that was a FANTASTIC suggestion. Overall a very good soup, and we will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Moothart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I love this recipe the only thing I do differently is add a little vegetable broth instead of all chicken broth. Instead of adding the spinach to the soup, I place raw, baby spinach in the bottom of each bowl and pour the steaming soup on top to blanch the spinach. Sometimes I add Italian stewed tomatoes. No matter which way I serve it, it's a hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Yummy! I did mine in my slow cooker. Took about 6 hours (give or take) for it to cook. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Awesome recipe. I used a low fat chicken italian sausage and cut it a little smaller than suggested. This made it healthier and easier since I didn't have to drain off any fat/grease. I also added celery. Definitely will be added this to my normal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Easy and quick to make. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Great base...I used chicken sausage and frozen spinach I had in my freezer. I added celery, potatoes and orzo (along with a few extra spices to boost the flavor). This was good, healthy, and a great way to use up veggies on hand and on their last leg. Pretty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyart98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I used homemade turkey broth and added oregano, chopped chives, & basil. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
It was so easy and quick to make and got eaten very quickly. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States