Sausage and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
My wife likes Bavarian-style sauerkraut, which has brown sugar added for sweetness. We used to be able to find it in a can but cannot anymore so I looked for a similar recipe and stumbled upon this. It turned out excellent. My only deviation was to add a bit of apple juice to the kraut because it was a bit dry to simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas2Step

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This is delicious. I made it just as the recipe suggested, only I halved it as I am only cooking for 2. It is an interesting combination of ingredients that come together to make a very yummy dish. This will be on our menu on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This recipe was fantastic.I could have left it alone but I did add some red habaneros to the mix. Pure Polish but love the heat. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I love sauerkraut with most any smoked sausage together. I have made it many many times. The only thing I leave out is the apple and brown sugar. I don't care for the sweetness it adds. Other than that it makes a fine meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tooze Potts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Excellent. Rinsing the sauerkraut removes the bite, but the flavor is still there. All flavors work very well together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rufusss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Delish! I used the saute mode on my slow cooker and cooked the bacon and onion, then browning the kielbasa. I drained (but did not rinse) the sauerkraut to achieve the "tang" that we enjoy. I then mixed the bacon-onion mixture with the sauerkraut in a large bowl. I then layered the sauerkraut mixture, browned kielbasa, sauerkraut mixture, and the remaining kielbasas. I set the slow cooker on low for 5 hours--the best sauerkraut and kielbasa ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This recipe is delicious! I made it as directed only I used a third of a cup of brown sugar instead of a half. I was concerned about it being too sweet with using a red apple but was perfect served over homemade mashed potatoes! My family loved this I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I have to say a was a little leery about trying this recipe but I wanted some sauerkraut. I had to substitute a couple of things because I didn't have any bacon or apples. Since I didn't have any apples I used an 8 0z jar of homemade apple sauce and didn't add the brown sugar. I put a little oil in the frying pan and dumped in some bacon bit and sauteed the onion with them. This turned out really good and my husband even liked it. I will be making this again when I want to do something different with kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I followed the recipe as written with the exception of not draining the sauerkraut. I felt the bacon masked the subtler flavor of the sauerkraut and overpowered the whole dish. I love bacon but I was hoping for more tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States