Sausage and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Why do people like Dee say they made a recipe but the completely change all the main ingredients? Then they say it's not good. I made it and it's very good. I don't like caraway seed, so I left that out, but that was optional. Serving suggestions by the original poster are exactly right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great dish. I made the recipe as described, but cooked in it in the slow cooker, and added 1/2 cup apple juice so it wouldn't dry out. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Great recipe! Our whole family enjoyed this dish. I would definitely recommend using the caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
My family loves sauerkraut and they said this was the best recipe yet! I followed the recipe, except I used 2-2 lb bags (4 lb) of sauerkraut (I mentioned my family likes sauerkraut...). I did not double the remaining ingredients. I put the sauerkraut in my large crockpot, sauteed the bacon and onion and then added it with the sugar and apple. I did not use caraway. I browned some country ribs and placed them on top along with several smoked sausage (I like brats, but, only had the smoked sausage). I let it slow cook all day. I made mashed Yukon Gold potatoes to go along with the meal. The family raved about it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
My rating is based on the actual recipe given. This is a classic, homestyle recipe with great flavors. The only thing I did differently after tasting the original is add a pinch of salt and pepper. Very nice recipe, thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was so good. I made it in the slow cooker. Cooked and crumbled the bacon then just threw it all in with about a half cup of apple juice as another reviewer suggested. Turned out perfect served over mashed potatoes. Will make this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I made this exactly according to recipe, cooking this in my cast iron skillet so it could go from stovetop to oven easily. I used Uncle Charley's sausage in this recipe and I served this with Meme's Mashed Potatoes. Not only did I love it but so did my husband and kids. Surprized the heck out of me, I thought for sure they'd hate it. NO leftovers and the boys asked me to make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Yes I agree if your not gonna follow the recipe dont rate it bad! If you change the recipe its not the recipe anymore its your recipe. It was great!!! I did like the caraway seeds. Thanks for the great recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nats2dew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Deeeeeeelicious!! The only thing I did different was to add the full pound of bacon. We loved this dish & will be making this again. Thank you for submitting it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great didnt have hours did it in 40 min added 4 granny smiths. Im german..both sides and this was spot on. Dont use italian sausage please! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States