Sausage and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I did not add the apple and omitted the bacon. Also, I substituted Italian sausage for the Kielbasa. I feel that kielbasa is too greasy. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
My rating is based on the actual recipe given. This is a classic, homestyle recipe with great flavors. The only thing I did differently after tasting the original is add a pinch of salt and pepper. Very nice recipe, thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Great recipe! Our whole family enjoyed this dish. I would definitely recommend using the caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great dish. I made the recipe as described, but cooked in it in the slow cooker, and added 1/2 cup apple juice so it wouldn't dry out. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Very good. Will make again but will add a little more sugar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Why do people like Dee say they made a recipe but the completely change all the main ingredients? Then they say it's not good. I made it and it's very good. I don't like caraway seed, so I left that out, but that was optional. Serving suggestions by the original poster are exactly right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Great flavor. My daughter is a vegetarian, so I used the Morning Star Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Very good! I accidentally purchased the "sweetened" sauerkraut which already had sugar and caraway seeds included so I just omitted them from the recipe. We definitly could have used more bacon but we are bacon lovers. and maybe 1 and 1/2 apples next time. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was so good. I made it in the slow cooker. Cooked and crumbled the bacon then just threw it all in with about a half cup of apple juice as another reviewer suggested. Turned out perfect served over mashed potatoes. Will make this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
My family was very happy to evaluate this meal today. There were a couple of variations made to it. He used 1 lb. Big Red Smokies instead of 1 1/2 lbs. kielbasa. The apple was a large Cameo. He used 1/3 cup of brown sugar and 1 tsp. of caraway seeds (we would not recommend you to omit it). He felt you should start the bacon about 3 minutes before adding the onions. The smell while this is cooking is out of this world!!! Delicious! Our son who won't eat kraut ate this dish. We all loved it and hope to serve it very soon again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States