Sausage and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
My first time making this and it was delicious. I did it just like the recipe. I will certainly make this again. Although, with all the sausage and yummy bacon it is more for occasions or when I feel like cheating on being healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantilly Lace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
Made thisI don't understand why this had to cook so long but I cooked per the directions. Others said they added apple juice to keep it from drying out but the drying out with the apples, onions and bacon is what makes it so delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly as it's written except that I used turkey kielbasa and left out the caraway seeds. It turned out great!!!! My husband commented that he wouldn't have known I used turkey kielbasa if I hadn't told him. I think that was because of the bacon. I was worried about burning the sauerkraut since I drained it. My gas stove kept getting too hot on low so I turned it off a bunch of times and then back on a few minutes later to keep the temperature down. Finally I added a few tablespoons of water. That seemed to help and didn't have a negative effect on the recipe. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
I am not a big kraut person, but the combo of sugar, apple, bacon and onion was terrific! I paired with some potato and macaroni salads and Italian sausage (cooked separately but still delicious all together).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
I made this for my family reunion. Everyone raved about this and wanted the recipe. Kudos!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
Very good. Had to use can instead of fresh sauerkraut. Will make again and add a little apple juice so it doesn't dry out in the oven. Only baked mine 30 min. because it was starting to dry out. Thanks for recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
The first time I made this recipe, I followed it to a T and did add the optional caraway seeds. Good stuff. For the second time, I also added 2 tbsp of apple sauce to the simmering sauerkraut mixture and used a 1 lb of bacon instead of a 1/2 lb. with no other changes. Better stuff. I do recommend using the caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather Reynolds
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Delicious my husband and I ate the whole thing minus possible half a bowl. I omitted the caraway seed next time I will add more or possibly the corrext amount of saukraut as I only used 1 bag of boars head
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Reynolds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This is exactly how my Oma would make it except with addition of dill weed and occasionally shed use Apple sauce instead. She also would kielbasa sausage. I made this tonight with spätzel and it was amazing. Made me feel like I was having dinner at my Oma and Opa's again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia Geegee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Used unsweetened apple sauce instead...worked fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States