Sausage and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Used unsweetened apple sauce instead...worked fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Wow! I made this exactly as described in the recipe except instead of using a 1/2 lb of bacon, I used a whole package. It was so delicious! I will definitely be making this again! The flavors were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
a delish dish ! This was the perfect pairing with my homemade perogis .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
What I learned about this recipe is just how tender sauerkraut becomes when cooked for a good long time. The addition of the sugar and apple mitigates the sourness of the sauerkraut while the bacon tempers the sweetness, adding a much appreciated earthy smokiness. Simply said, we loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Great Recipe! I omitted the caraway ( we don't like it) and brown sugar ( husband is type 1 diabetic). I did add some small red potatoes, and garlic. Don't rush the cooking of it, and it'll turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Was awesome!!!! Made it at firehouse, left out caraway seed and brown sugar, like sauerkraut that is a little tarter. I ended up letting it simmer longer due to making runs and also baked a little longer. First time I've cooked with NO leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
After living in Bavaria for two years and traveling to Germany often for work, there are few dishes in the US that I would declare worthy of a good German beer; this recipe is definitely one of them!!! It was awesome!! More work than most of my dinners, but worth every minute. The girls (7 & under and picky) hated it of course. My son (9) thought it was okay. My husband liked it. I had leftovers for lunch the next day and they were even better than the night before. If you are looking for a taste of Germany (to go along with a history lesson or just something different) this recipe is a great one to try. I told my kids to take a deep breath over their plates before they ate - that was the smell of a traditional German restaurant, minus the stale beer. :) I made this recipe using my mother-in-law's homemade sauerkraut, store bought turkey kielbasa, and bacon. I did not add caraway seeds because I didn't have any. Turkey bacon might be a viable alternative for those with pork sensitivities. Some reviewers said they had problems with the kraut burning while simmering. I used a tall, heavy 2 quart pot on a medium-low heat and had no issues, even though the kraut seemed on the dry side at first. The apples created just enough juice on the bottom. I served it with buttered and salted mashed russet potatoes. I won't be making it any time soon again due to effort and my family's lack luster response, but it will definitely be an annual, winter time tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
We're not German. We're Indian and Puerto Rican born in the U.S. Lived in small cities and attended white churches. Thus, we love some good sausage and sauerkraut! This was my first time making the recipe and it was awesome. Only changes was half of sauerkraut (I only had a can), no seeds (again, we're not German) and turkey kielbasa. It was easy to follow and came out beautifully. Changes in the future would be to make double cause this was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This sauerkraut was the best. I did make some modifications. I skipped the caraway seeds because my partner doesn't like them. I also used turkey bacon and chicken-and-apple sausage because they were a little lower-sodium than the pork equivalents at my grocery store. Was really happy I did -- the apple in the sausage went really well with the salty-sweet flavor of the sauerkraut. I cooked the sauerkraut in the crock pot for two hours on high, then browned the bacon, onion, and sausage in a skillet before adding them to the kraut. I cooked for an additional hour or so on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YeahBuddy
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
New Years is today and I was looking for a good recipe. I left out the caraway seed but made it exactly as intended otherwise. I loved it and so did my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States