Sausage and Rice Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
The time to prepare this is definitely too long. I cut down the time by adding 1 cup of uncooked rice to the mixture after the soup, water, & cheese were added. I then covered and simered for 30 minutes. After the 30 minutes, the consistency was perfect for stuffing the peppers. I also added a 16 oz can of cut-up tomatoes to the bottom of the baking pan and placed the stuffed peppers on top, sprinkled the remaining cheese over all, and sprinkled croutons over everything. These changes cut the cooking time by an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Recipe turned out great. I won't use minute rice so I used half a pound of ground beef half a pound of ground pork browned them and the chopped onion in a large frying pan with a lid. When that was finished browning I added 2 cups of raw long grain white rice and the rest of the ingredients brought it to a boil reduced heat to medium low and let it simmer for a half hour until the rice was cooked. Then I stuff the peppers raw, baked them for half an hour added the cheese on top stuck them back under the broiler until cheese bubbled. Only one pan to clean up and all the flavors blended well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Really good, but I did make a few changes. Red peppers were on sale, so that was a no brainer. Instead of cutting the tops off the peppers like I normally do, I sliced them in half lengthwise. Boiling the peppers isn't necessary, so I skipped that part and just added some water to the bottom of the pan before it was ready to be baked. I used tomato sauce in lieu of the soup, replaced the rice with couscous and then topped the peppers with shredded Pepper Jack cheese. The family really enjoyed the fact that the recipe called for sausage (although I used turkey sausage) instead of beef. Thanks Nancie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I rated this recipe a 4 just because I changed it a little as others advised. This was my first stuffed pepper encounter and it was a great one! I was able to shorten the time it took by about half by not boiling the peppers. For the meat, I used a chicken sausage that had been stuffed with red peppers. See the irony? Oh yes my friends. Peppers, inside of chicken, inside of peppers. Now if only I could fit the stuffed peppers into the cavity of a roast chicken, my life would be complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieFayce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I like this recipe, but I will keep searching for a better stuffed peppers recipe. It's outstanding, particularly when we look at the simple and easy ingredients. As others have said, I would like to repeat emphatically: DON'T BOIL THE PEPPERS. 3 of 6 peppers cracked as I attempted to remove them from the pot to the baking pan, despite being extremely careful. No wonder. They were so mushy and weak that it's amazing they all didn't split. I should have listened to cwillisf, another reviewer. I did increase the ingredients by .5 to insure that I would have enough stuffing. It was nice to have the extra stuffing to spoon over the peppers, especially since three of them capsized from being split. Because half of the peppers ended up flat, this looked more like a casserole than traditional stuffed peppers. But on taste, this is a good dish. I will try it again someday. And by the way, since we aren't meshing a complex blend of spices, the stuffing mixture does not need to cook for more than a few minutes--in my opinion--just enough for the cheese to melt properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
1st attempt at making stuffed peppers. They came out great! Only difference was I ommitted boiling the peppers prior to placing them in the oven. I scaled the recipe down to 4 and had lots left over. Will you remainder for burritos tonight. Perfect. SIDE NOTE: I HAVE SINCE MADE THIS RECIPE SEVERAL TIMES AND NO LONGER USE IT FOR STUFFED PEPPERS. MAKE BURRITOS OUT OF THEM EVERY TIME. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
have made this 3 time now,because this is my 11 years old favorite,i did change a few things,used red bell peppers,spaghetti sauce and spicy italian sausage with mozzarella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
Excellent recipe--great taste, but I believe that three cups COOKED instant rice was intended. My filling had alot of rice and not much of anything else. I will try the recipe again with the small change, and I will add a can of chopped tomatoes, drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I used marinara sauce rather than tomato soup. I used some leftover brown rice instead of instant. Oh and I subbed the pork sausage with a homemade low-fat chicken sausage. Omitted cheese :( I got the calorie content down to about 200-much better than 800! post holiday dieting ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
The stuffing is really good. Makes an excellent buritto mix as well, just as add lectuce. I made the mix with the plan of six large peppers which I had, I ended using about 3/4 of it. For the peppers aspect, DO NOT BOIL the peppers unless you like them mushy and tasteless. To cut down on the cooking time add less water to the mix when you add the tomato soup, I would suggest cutting it down to half the recommended amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States