Sausage and Rice Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I only had small green peppers (very hard to "stuff"!) available because we live overseas, so I sliced the peppers, poured the rice mixture over the peppers and baked it in a Pyrex dish. Good with the tomato soup as the tomato base, but slightly bland. Perhaps if I had added some chili powder it may have given it more of the "kick" we were looking for. Good despite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonneandPetite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chatan, Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
TIP: Instead of boiling the peppers I prep them as stated and then put them in a one gallon sized zip lock bag with a little bit of water. Almost seal them completely, leave a little crack open for steam to escape. Give them room, two to three per bag. Microwave them for five minutes. Caution they will be very hot! We all enjoyed this pepper recipe.Next time... I would pick up on seasonings, my favorite herbs. Top with parmesan cheese, maybe even stuff a chunk of cheddar,goat or jack cheese in the center with the stuffing enveloping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeggyM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I love this recipe!! I just had my fourth pepper in a week! I didn't boil the green peppers (that would overcook the peppers and cook a lot of the nutrients out) and I also only simmered the filling for about 5 minutes. I cut the tops off the peppers and chopped up the tops and added them to the filling which made it more hearty. I used Heinz tomato soup (I can't find it in the US but it's available in Canada) because it is SO much better than Campbell's! I also used brown rice. I didn't add in salt or anything since the soup made it salty enough. I put the filling into the raw peppers and baked them at about 375 or 400 for about 40 minutes (about 50 if I stuffed the peppers a few days ahead of time since the stuffing would need the extra time to heat up after being in the fridge). I loved the chili powder and garlic powder and the sausage gave the filling a nice twist instead of using the usual ground beef. The cheese inside the filling was also a nice hidden touch. I used mozzarella and topped the peppers off with just a little. Anyway, this recipe is so good and I'm a tougher rater (3 stars = good). Thanks for the recipe and I hope others will enjoy this recipe as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalan L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapleau, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
ok, these tasted sooo good. but! the 15 minutes in the boiling water made my peppers way to soggy instead of crispy. also, stuffed peppers are suppost to be a quick meal, why in the world did it take almost 2 hours to make these??? thats the only reason im not giving it a 5 stars! i probubly wont make these again simply bc of the amount of time it took to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Great recipe, first time Ive ever made them. Glad I read the reviews though, saved some time. Like adding the rice with the mix uncooked & not using so much. I used 1 & 1/2 cups uncooked rice. And I made 8 peppers, and had plenty. And only simmered the mix for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCatrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
i love this recepie!! i made a few changes tho..i used puerto rican rice for extra flavor..and added my own seasons for the ground beef..it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe, although I did change it slightly. Instead of using tomatoe soup, I used two freshed tomatoes, which I blanched and put in an ice bath to remove the skins. I diced the tomatoes and removed the seeds. I also used ground pork instead of sausage [cheaper], and when I finished browning it with the chopped onion I added the tomatoes as well as a 1/4 cup of ketchup for colour. I really enjoyed making this recipe and in addition made a vegetarian one for my dad with Yves soy ground beef. It also turned out really well. Over all a great recipe, but a bit time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
My entire family just devoured this recipes! I didn't make any changes to the meal and everything came out perfectly. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythe, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Got to admit, this was a tasty dish. Was used to the traditional ground beef deal but using snagauge is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum Yums

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Not bad. I appreciated the suggestions to cut down cooking time, and using spicy Italian sausage gave it a little kick. It has more of a Mexican flavor thanks to the chili powder, so I almost wished I had used chorizo instead. I also agree that this could be great in burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States