Sausage and Rice Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Absolutely wonderful as written. The slight changes you can make won't alter the dish that much from the original. (example- using a different cheese or brown rice) I personally like red peppers better than green, but overall-this is the recipe my family requests time and again! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clifton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
It was good, but I felt the prep time took too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
great recipe. gotta be honest, I tweaked alot of it, but as far as the bones of the operation,, this is good! I DID blanche my peppers! I used ground turkey, brown minute rice and a jar spaghetti sauce. this cut about an hour and 15 minutes out of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I made this last night and my husband and I LOVED it! The only alterations that I made was I used half ground beef and half sausage. I used yellow rice instead of white rice and added a bit more rice to the mixture because it seemed kind of soupy. Not sure if that is because I used a different kind of rice? In any event, I will make this again and again! I did have leftover stuffing mixture so I decided to freeze it and use it again next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe! I did NOT parboil the peppers. I used pre-cooked brown rice and used 1/2 turkey breakfast sausage and 1/2 ground beef. I placed a medium onion and two carrots in the food processor and added to meat while browning. (I have a three year old and need to incorporate as many veggies as possible!) I did not put cheese in the mixture. I only simmered the meat/rice mixture for about ten minutes, while I prepared the peppers. I filled the peppers and placed in baking dish with one can of tomato sauce and one can of hot water. I sealed the dish tightly with heavy aluminum foil and baked at 375F for 50 minutes. I removed the foil, made sure the peppers were cooked, topped with Jack cheese and placed back in the oven for about 10 minutes. This reminds me of when my departed Mom used to make this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doobzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Yummy! Delicious & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aznalur
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Great basic recipe to get me started, but I did have a few healthier alternatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aznalur

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
The recipe, as is, will fill about 20 large bell peppers, not 6. I recommend decreasing the amount of rice to 1 cup and also the water to 1 cup. As for the cheese, use 4 ounces in the recipe and about another 2 ounces to top the filling. As for blanching the bell peppers, it's a bad idea. Boiling for 15 minutes makes the peppers very soft. Do it for only 5 minutes or skip this step all together. The peppers will cook just fine in the oven. I agree with the other reviewers that the recipe takes way too long. Simmer only long enough to get the onions tender and meld the flavors, about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRHarrington

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Good flavor, but the cooking directions take way longer than necessary. I can make this in 25 minutes tops. 1. start rice in rice cooker or on stove - this step takes longest. (Also, reduce rice by half for a more meat rich dish.) 2. add peppers to boiling, lightly salted water for 15 minutes. 3. While they are cooking put sausage and onion in large skillet. Brown the sausage first. Then add diced tomatoes, cheese and spices. (I used mega hot chili powder, but I love super spicy things. Adjust spices to taste. Use italian sausage and spices if you like flavor, but not heat.) 4. Remove peppers from water and set aside - they won't cool too much. Add cooked rice to the sausage mix and stir. 5. Stuff the peppers. Put cheese on top and put under broiler for 3 minutes to toast it. Done - takes 25 minutes max.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Love this recipe - the stuffing is wonderful. Only thing is - peppers are too raw if i don't cook them, and when i boiled as directed they were way too mushy - ended up baking them for 10 minutes empty and then filling them - made the texture of the peppers a lot better for me. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States