Sausage and Rice Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
1st attempt at making stuffed peppers. They came out great! Only difference was I ommitted boiling the peppers prior to placing them in the oven. I scaled the recipe down to 4 and had lots left over. Will you remainder for burritos tonight. Perfect. SIDE NOTE: I HAVE SINCE MADE THIS RECIPE SEVERAL TIMES AND NO LONGER USE IT FOR STUFFED PEPPERS. MAKE BURRITOS OUT OF THEM EVERY TIME. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I like this recipe, but I will keep searching for a better stuffed peppers recipe. It's outstanding, particularly when we look at the simple and easy ingredients. As others have said, I would like to repeat emphatically: DON'T BOIL THE PEPPERS. 3 of 6 peppers cracked as I attempted to remove them from the pot to the baking pan, despite being extremely careful. No wonder. They were so mushy and weak that it's amazing they all didn't split. I should have listened to cwillisf, another reviewer. I did increase the ingredients by .5 to insure that I would have enough stuffing. It was nice to have the extra stuffing to spoon over the peppers, especially since three of them capsized from being split. Because half of the peppers ended up flat, this looked more like a casserole than traditional stuffed peppers. But on taste, this is a good dish. I will try it again someday. And by the way, since we aren't meshing a complex blend of spices, the stuffing mixture does not need to cook for more than a few minutes--in my opinion--just enough for the cheese to melt properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This recipe is GREAT!! My husband could not get enough of it!! I didn't have any tomato soup, but instead used tomato sauce and tomato juice. I highly reccomend this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
My husband is on a low-carb diet. o I took this recipe and reduced it to 2 servings. I then used 1/2 lb. ground sausage + 1/2 ground beef and omitted the rice. My husband, who is a very busy restaurant manager, made the time to call home and RAVE about this phenomenal recipe. THANKS SO MUCH NANCIE!!!! You are helping me to score points in the low-carb kitchen. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Very good. Things i did differently was use instant brown rice, canned whole tomatos broken into chunks, spicy italian sausage, and no seasonings (the sausage was enough). My fiance loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
We've become pretty big fans of stuffed peppers, and this is a decent reciepe to use. Though we usually substitute the sausage for beef, because I like it better. This is a good, classic reciepe though, and I highly recommend it as a starting point if you're in for some nice stuffed peppers. We also don't boil our peppers before we bake them. It seemed like an unnecessary step that didn't do much for the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
These were good!! I have to say I agree with some of the others that the meat/rice mixture does not need to be cooked as long as the recipes says. I just boiled the peppers, stuffed them, and put them under the broiler for a few min. to get the cheese all crusty and bubbly. I'll make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I have tried about 5 different stuffed pepper recipes and I would have to say that this is the best ever!!! I was trying to duplicate a recipe from Fareway Grocery stores and this tops it!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clarinda, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
I made it tonight for my boyfriend and his mom. They both thought it was georgeous. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
These are yummy! I normally add more cheese than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States