Sausage and Rice Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
this was excellent, the only difference was I used 3 cloves of fresh garlic and sauteed them with the onion and sausage. They were so good!!! ( the 3 cloves were for 1/2 the recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I made this with Ground beef. It needed more seasoning, so I added some Tony's Creole season to taste. I didn't simmer any of it as long as it asked- 30 mins here and there, were substantially reduced- and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARLEESMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Excellent with a few changes. To cut back a little on the fat I used 1 lb of ground pork and 1 lb of ground beef and used low fat sharp cheddar. I also cut back the rice to 2 cups. This still made 6 large stuffed peppers that my husband and I loved. Next time I will blend 1 large can tomato sauce with the tomato soup and put some aside so I can have extra sauce to pour over the tops before adding cheese and baking. Good recipe...it's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisville, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This recipe kicks butt!!! Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Was very good. Used to much rice in my mixture, and also used colored peppers, recipe was very tasty. Next time I will not use 2 cups of regular rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I'm only giving it a 4 because the filling was good. Others say not to boil the peppers, but I think you should. If your only making for 2 people you can almost cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
this is a favorite for my husband and me, the kids just eat the filling...I made the following changes...I didn't boil the peppers, I used half sausage and half hamburger and one can of tomatoe soup than filled the empty can half full of bbq sauce, I didn't have instant rice so I just made regular rice and added it to the beef mixture after the simmering, also didn't use a pound of cheese just covered the top of the peppers with cheese at the very end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
These were very good, although I did change quite a few things. First, I took other reviewer's advise and didn't boil the peppers. I halved the recipe but used a whole tube of Jimmy Dean Hot Sausage (we like it hot). I simmered everything for an hour but then put brown rice straight into the mixture with some extra water and simmered for about fifteen minutes. Instead of leaving the peppers whole, I decided to cut them in half, which made them eaisier to stuff as well as eat. Then I baked them for 45 minutes. Seeings I have never attempted to cook Stuffed Peppers, I have got to say, they turned out real well thanks to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
great recipe. I made this for a gathering because there were some vegetarians coming. I used a italian flavoured tofu-ground beef substitute and it was phenomenal. I also used both red and green peppers for some color and variety. Would definatly do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
One of our favorites! Cut the sauce part in half, but still add the same amount of sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States