Sausage and Rice Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Excellent recipe. Excellent for stuffed peppers and even better for enchiladas! I added 3 cloves of fresh garlic with the sausage and substituted tomato sauce for the soup. Decreased the water to 2 cups and added some fresh diced tomatoes. Great base recipe. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Used ground beef instead of sausage. Used brown rice instead of white rice. Added creole seasoning, and cut them in half rather than topped them. Froze the leftovers. Loved it, will make again. It's about 3 months later and I took a couple of the peppers out of the freezer. They were even better than when I first cooked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was a big hit with my husband. I used Bob Evans hot spicy sausage and changed none of the ingredients. My peppers had gone from green to red, so I skipped cooking the peppers before I stuffed them. They had the same tender/crispy texture of a stir fry. There was a ton of extra filling left over, so the following night I used it in burritos. Cooking once and eating twice fits my lifestyle. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I really enjoyed them ...with 3 revisions ; 1) I mixed ground beef and ground pork ,2) I used tomato sauce not soup ( then eliminated the water),& 3) substituted parmasean for the chedder, then topped the peppers with a slice of swiss cheese. I got a 5 !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caspian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I liked this recipe, but made a few changes.I used a 1/2 lb of lean ground beef and a 1/2 ab of chorizo sausage, I used 1 cup of cooked basamati rice,green onion,1-10oz can of tomato soup and 1cup of hunts spicy tomato sauce,and threw crumpled in some blue cheese instead of chedder, for spices I used Mrs Dash spicy blend , fresh garlic, fresh ground pepper. I omitted the water and used some tomato juice instead. If you find its not thick enough you can use pureed tomatoes or tomato paste, or some more thick and chunky tomato sauce but play around with the ingredients like I did and you will have a recipe you'll want to keep for a long time if you like blue cheese and with the leftover mixture I saved it and made a cabbage caserole with it. Hope it turns out for you all. Caper60
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney Mines, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
have made this 3 time now,because this is my 11 years old favorite,i did change a few things,used red bell peppers,spaghetti sauce and spicy italian sausage with mozzarella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I rated this recipe a 4 just because I changed it a little as others advised. This was my first stuffed pepper encounter and it was a great one! I was able to shorten the time it took by about half by not boiling the peppers. For the meat, I used a chicken sausage that had been stuffed with red peppers. See the irony? Oh yes my friends. Peppers, inside of chicken, inside of peppers. Now if only I could fit the stuffed peppers into the cavity of a roast chicken, my life would be complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieFayce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I turned this into a healthy recipe by making brown rice, using about a 1/4 of the cheese, and I used vegetarian ground beef in place of the sausage. I did not boil the peppers, as recommended in many reviews. The peppers came out crispy, which is good because more vitamins are retained, but I think I would have liked the taste better if the peppers were soft (as I remember stuffed peppers to be). I sautéed 1/2 onion and 3 cloves of garlic before I added the other ingredients (tomato soup, water, seasonings). After 30 minutes, the mixture was thick and I added the brown rice. I did continue cooking the rice for the additional 30 minutes. I also poured a can of diced tomatoes over the top before baking. The recipe took 1.5 hours from start to finish. Next time I would use a marinara sauce in place of the tomato soup. I’ll try covering the peppers with tin foil to see if they steam a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Very tasty recipe, although not enough tomato soup and too much rice, some of the rice didn't get any seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I've made these a lot, but always vegetarian-style: have tried with tofu, vegetarian meatballs (yep!) and vegetarian "ground beef". It's great stuff, and one of those recipes that's great to improvise and edit as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States