Sausage and Rice Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
ok, these tasted sooo good. but! the 15 minutes in the boiling water made my peppers way to soggy instead of crispy. also, stuffed peppers are suppost to be a quick meal, why in the world did it take almost 2 hours to make these??? thats the only reason im not giving it a 5 stars! i probubly wont make these again simply bc of the amount of time it took to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Great recipe, first time Ive ever made them. Glad I read the reviews though, saved some time. Like adding the rice with the mix uncooked & not using so much. I used 1 & 1/2 cups uncooked rice. And I made 8 peppers, and had plenty. And only simmered the mix for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCatrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
i love this recepie!! i made a few changes tho..i used puerto rican rice for extra flavor..and added my own seasons for the ground beef..it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe, although I did change it slightly. Instead of using tomatoe soup, I used two freshed tomatoes, which I blanched and put in an ice bath to remove the skins. I diced the tomatoes and removed the seeds. I also used ground pork instead of sausage [cheaper], and when I finished browning it with the chopped onion I added the tomatoes as well as a 1/4 cup of ketchup for colour. I really enjoyed making this recipe and in addition made a vegetarian one for my dad with Yves soy ground beef. It also turned out really well. Over all a great recipe, but a bit time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
My entire family just devoured this recipes! I didn't make any changes to the meal and everything came out perfectly. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythe, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Got to admit, this was a tasty dish. Was used to the traditional ground beef deal but using snagauge is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum Yums

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Not bad. I appreciated the suggestions to cut down cooking time, and using spicy Italian sausage gave it a little kick. It has more of a Mexican flavor thanks to the chili powder, so I almost wished I had used chorizo instead. I also agree that this could be great in burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Excellent recipe. Excellent for stuffed peppers and even better for enchiladas! I added 3 cloves of fresh garlic with the sausage and substituted tomato sauce for the soup. Decreased the water to 2 cups and added some fresh diced tomatoes. Great base recipe. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Used ground beef instead of sausage. Used brown rice instead of white rice. Added creole seasoning, and cut them in half rather than topped them. Froze the leftovers. Loved it, will make again. It's about 3 months later and I took a couple of the peppers out of the freezer. They were even better than when I first cooked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was a big hit with my husband. I used Bob Evans hot spicy sausage and changed none of the ingredients. My peppers had gone from green to red, so I skipped cooking the peppers before I stuffed them. They had the same tender/crispy texture of a stir fry. There was a ton of extra filling left over, so the following night I used it in burritos. Cooking once and eating twice fits my lifestyle. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States