Sausage and Rice Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Fine stuffed peppers, these. I used two cups of rice in a rice cooker and fresh tomatoes instead of tomato soup, sauce or paste, and -- just before stuffing time -- microwaved the six hollowed peppers for 3-1/2 minutes. No cracking. After stuffing, regular oven for 15 min., take out to cheese the tops, then back in on broil for three or four minutes. Five-star tastiness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jim&Carla
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
If you actually follow the recipe as it is posted, they come out perfect. That is my photo, of course they crack a bit at the top, but the rest of the pepper was fully in tact. Don't over boil them is about all I can say. They looked fantasic and tasted even better!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim&Carla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I'm not a good cook AT ALL and relied purely on this recipe and comments from other people to guide me. The stuffed peppers were AWESOME! I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
My husband is very fussy and wasn't sure he would like stuffed peppers. He surprised me by saying "this one is a keeper and good enough to serve to company"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This was terrific, even my 12 year old who hates peppers enjoyed it. I added fresh garlic instead of the powered and used brown rice that I had previously cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Because this recipe as written takes a long time, I browned the sausage, added the soup, cooked through, cooked the rice in the microwave, added it and then put it all in the oven. Turned out just fine, with no simmering for an hour or half an hour at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
They were great! I didn't need to simmer for as long as it says, and they still came out fine. I agree that a little extra chili powder will help give it a kick :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Louise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I only had small green peppers (very hard to "stuff"!) available because we live overseas, so I sliced the peppers, poured the rice mixture over the peppers and baked it in a Pyrex dish. Good with the tomato soup as the tomato base, but slightly bland. Perhaps if I had added some chili powder it may have given it more of the "kick" we were looking for. Good despite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonneandPetite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chatan, Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
TIP: Instead of boiling the peppers I prep them as stated and then put them in a one gallon sized zip lock bag with a little bit of water. Almost seal them completely, leave a little crack open for steam to escape. Give them room, two to three per bag. Microwave them for five minutes. Caution they will be very hot! We all enjoyed this pepper recipe.Next time... I would pick up on seasonings, my favorite herbs. Top with parmesan cheese, maybe even stuff a chunk of cheddar,goat or jack cheese in the center with the stuffing enveloping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeggyM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I love this recipe!! I just had my fourth pepper in a week! I didn't boil the green peppers (that would overcook the peppers and cook a lot of the nutrients out) and I also only simmered the filling for about 5 minutes. I cut the tops off the peppers and chopped up the tops and added them to the filling which made it more hearty. I used Heinz tomato soup (I can't find it in the US but it's available in Canada) because it is SO much better than Campbell's! I also used brown rice. I didn't add in salt or anything since the soup made it salty enough. I put the filling into the raw peppers and baked them at about 375 or 400 for about 40 minutes (about 50 if I stuffed the peppers a few days ahead of time since the stuffing would need the extra time to heat up after being in the fridge). I loved the chili powder and garlic powder and the sausage gave the filling a nice twist instead of using the usual ground beef. The cheese inside the filling was also a nice hidden touch. I used mozzarella and topped the peppers off with just a little. Anyway, this recipe is so good and I'm a tougher rater (3 stars = good). Thanks for the recipe and I hope others will enjoy this recipe as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalan L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapleau, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States