Sausage and Rice Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I made this last night and my husband and I LOVED it! The only alterations that I made was I used half ground beef and half sausage. I used yellow rice instead of white rice and added a bit more rice to the mixture because it seemed kind of soupy. Not sure if that is because I used a different kind of rice? In any event, I will make this again and again! I did have leftover stuffing mixture so I decided to freeze it and use it again next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe! I did NOT parboil the peppers. I used pre-cooked brown rice and used 1/2 turkey breakfast sausage and 1/2 ground beef. I placed a medium onion and two carrots in the food processor and added to meat while browning. (I have a three year old and need to incorporate as many veggies as possible!) I did not put cheese in the mixture. I only simmered the meat/rice mixture for about ten minutes, while I prepared the peppers. I filled the peppers and placed in baking dish with one can of tomato sauce and one can of hot water. I sealed the dish tightly with heavy aluminum foil and baked at 375F for 50 minutes. I removed the foil, made sure the peppers were cooked, topped with Jack cheese and placed back in the oven for about 10 minutes. This reminds me of when my departed Mom used to make this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doobzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Yummy! Delicious & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aznalur
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Great basic recipe to get me started, but I did have a few healthier alternatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aznalur

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
The recipe, as is, will fill about 20 large bell peppers, not 6. I recommend decreasing the amount of rice to 1 cup and also the water to 1 cup. As for the cheese, use 4 ounces in the recipe and about another 2 ounces to top the filling. As for blanching the bell peppers, it's a bad idea. Boiling for 15 minutes makes the peppers very soft. Do it for only 5 minutes or skip this step all together. The peppers will cook just fine in the oven. I agree with the other reviewers that the recipe takes way too long. Simmer only long enough to get the onions tender and meld the flavors, about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRHarrington

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Good flavor, but the cooking directions take way longer than necessary. I can make this in 25 minutes tops. 1. start rice in rice cooker or on stove - this step takes longest. (Also, reduce rice by half for a more meat rich dish.) 2. add peppers to boiling, lightly salted water for 15 minutes. 3. While they are cooking put sausage and onion in large skillet. Brown the sausage first. Then add diced tomatoes, cheese and spices. (I used mega hot chili powder, but I love super spicy things. Adjust spices to taste. Use italian sausage and spices if you like flavor, but not heat.) 4. Remove peppers from water and set aside - they won't cool too much. Add cooked rice to the sausage mix and stir. 5. Stuff the peppers. Put cheese on top and put under broiler for 3 minutes to toast it. Done - takes 25 minutes max.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Love this recipe - the stuffing is wonderful. Only thing is - peppers are too raw if i don't cook them, and when i boiled as directed they were way too mushy - ended up baking them for 10 minutes empty and then filling them - made the texture of the peppers a lot better for me. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I actually did not boil these peppers, but I don't think I put in enough liquid when I cooked these puppies. However, the filling was pretty good. Even though they did not come out they way I want them, I was able to cut them and stir them in some leftover atuffing and use it for burritos, like another user.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Omgoodness...I tried this recipe for my 1st time at making Stuffed peppers. I too changed the recipe a bit...No I did not boil the peppers. I used 1/2 lb turky burger and 1/2 lb turkey sausage. Added onions and spices to taste...but I also used 1 small can of mushrooms. Once the meat mixture was cooked I added 2 small cans of tomoatoe sauce and 1 can of ROTEL...that kicked it up a notch. 2 small cans of water ad 1 cup uncooked instant rice. covered for 20 mins or so until rice was cooked. Since I had so much stuffing, I took a tortilla and layerd the bottom of my pan and then took the meat/rice mix and added a thin layer to the tortillas and added cheese on top of that. Then put the stuffed peppers on top of the meat/cheese layer. The meat/rice mix was delish...Cant wait for the peppers to come out of the oven, cause I know it will be awesome. Of course this gave me another idea, take the meat/rice mix and layer tortillas/meatnrice/cheese in a casserole dish and now you have a whole new dish...love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
The filling in this recipe is SO good, I really could eat it by itself and be happy. I did boil the peppers in 2 batches for about 5 minutes while I was cooking the filling, and I used brown rice and low-fat sausage with great results. It does take a long time to make--I didn't check that before I started and wasn't planning on waiting so long to eat! Fantastic recipe, though; I will DEFINITELY make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States