Sausage and Peppers Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I made this for my friend's parents, and her dad said it was the best lasagna he'd ever had. I should have used more sauce and more cream cheese filling,but my fault, not the recipe's! It is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
THIS WAS SOOOO GOOD!!!! And it was even better the 2nd day as the flavors set in. I ran out of meat sauce, so I will double to meat next time, otherwise this is a 5star dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Very good recipe for ricotta cheeses haters:) Double the meat and double the cheese! I also did not add the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This recipe is great for picky eaters. My husband HATES ricotta cheese. He likes this lasagna, though. It's the only kind of lasagna that gets eaten in my house. I, like everyone, make it my own. I add 1/2 lb cooked ground beef into the sauce. I don't quite double all of the cheeses but I add an extra half of whatever the recipe call for (example: recipe says 2 1/2 cups mozzarella, I use 3 3/4). Everyone has their own personal preferances. Don't be afraid to make it your own :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was a great recipe. I love lasagna but im not always a fan of ricotta cheese and this was a great taste! It was also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oliveland
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I made this for the first time tonight. This was actually my first time ever making Lasagna too. & this Lasagna was DELICIOUS, and that's saying something since I do not like lasagna. My boyfriend said this was the best Lasagna that he'd ever had, and that's saying something because Lasagna is his most favorite meal. I made some minor adjustments. I used HOT Italian sausage since my boyfriend and I like some kick with our food. I listened to a couple previous reviewers and I added an extra brick of cream cheese, as well as I diced up a whole onion. For the spaghetti sauce I used Hunts Thick N Chunky Roasted Garlic (this is what I use as a base for my homemade spaghetti sauce) and I added some Italian seasoning, and some finely chopped mushrooms (I finely chopped the peppers too, since I didn't want chunky veggies taking away from the flavors in this dish). I used the "No boil" lasagna noodles so I added a bit of extra water to my sauce after some words of caution from my mother. After all that, I found that I didn't have quite enough cream cheese mixture and not enough sauce. I opened a second can of Hunts and added it to the left over sausage mixture for the top layer. I also ran out of noodles. I think I needed to use a smaller dish, but then there probably wouldn't have been deep enough. I served this dish with a garden salad as per my boyfriends request, and some garlic toast. This recipe will be one that is used often in our house. Thanks for sharing this! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oliveland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I made a few changes to both make this heartier and healthier where I could. I doubled the amount of italian sausage and used all red pepper (we don't care for green pepper at all). I also added a mess of fresh garlic and a half pound of chopped baby bella mushrooms. I didn't want to water down my sauce so I did not add the water. I used a homemade marinara sauce instead of jarred, which means my sauce had more spices than the sauce called for than the recipe. This was pretty easy to assemble, the directions were pretty straightforward. This was pretty tasty--my two boys really liked this, one had two servings! I didn't serve this with the Pepperidge Farm garlic texas toast--my son and I made the Garlic Bread Fantastique, which is also from this site. Along with a small tossed salad, this was a filling and satisfying meal. All three of the guys asked me to make this again instead of Pioneer Woman's Lasagna, which is HUGE because her lasagna has been MY lasagna for almost five years now. The cream cheese layer was CRAZY good. I would have never thought that it would have been. The only reason that it's not five stars is because it just needs a little more spice and a homemade sauce with more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This lasagna is delicious. The cream cheese makes the difference. I never would have thought to use cream cheese in place of ricotta or cottage cheeses, neither of which I am crazy about. Since both my husband and I dislike peppers, I just chopped up a large Vidalia onion, and left the peppers out. I also added 2 tsp. of Chef Prudhomme's Pizza and Pasta Magic to the sauce and increased the amount of mild Italian sausage. This recipe is my now my one and only recipe for lasagne. Next time, however, I will use 3 blocks of cream cheese. There wasn't enough of the cheese mixture to spread out nice, thick layers. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! I love the cream cheese rather then using ricotta in your traditional lasagnas even though I love ricotta. The Italian sausage and peppers were wonderful in it as well. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I found this recipe in a Philadelphia cream cheese cookbook, and it is, by far, the best lasagna I have ever eaten. The cream cheese makes it so creamy and gives it a nice, gooey consistency, and overall it's a hearty and just plain delicious recipe. My fiancee and I have made it our "special occasion" dish because we love it so much. The only difference I make is adding a whole red pepper instead of half a cup of each, because I'm not a fan of green peppers. But really, everyone has to try this recipe at least once; it's decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Spicy Jalapeno and Bacon Flatbread

Tasty flatbread is topped with bacon, veggies, and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States