Sausage and Mushroom Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Wow were these a hit! Loved it all. I used sweet Italian sausage, which worked great, and like the other users toasted the shells first. I also mixed about 2 tablespoons of heavy cream in with the mushrooms and threw a handful of cheese into the mushroom mixture as well. LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
These are so good if you just add some sauteed onion, bake the phyllo cups as suggested, and omit the butter! Like a reverse-stuffed mushroom and so much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very good. Some hassle factor, but not too bad, esp. if you have oven space available to keep the batches going. Made a few batches for a family gathering and they were scooped right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These were really good. I used chicken sausage. They were a little bland, could use a little salt and italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This recipe turned out great! My family loved it. That said, I gave it 4 stars because I found it very confusing. First, why put butter in with sausage - it's already loaded with fat - and you're throwing it away when you drain. I saved the butter until the mushrooms were added. I suspect it can be omitted entirely. Second, I think the pound of cheese is waaaaay too much. The recipe says put a pinch on each tart - no way that uses a pound. I mixed 1/3 to 1/2 pound in with the suasage and mushrooms after they cooled, and that was very generous. There was so much cheese in the mix that a pinch on top was no longer necessary. In all fairness, I used grated instead of shredded cheese, but a pound is a pound. I also took the advice of others and pre-baked the tart shells for 5 minutes. I will definitely make this again with my slight modifications. Thank you for submitting this great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I subsituted salsa for the mushrooms. Baked shells first, filled with sausage mixture, topped with cheese and baked til cheese melted....cooled, and topped with sour cream and a black olive slice. Was a hit at an all women Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Cartwright Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I like heat so I used hot italian sausage. Otherwise kept to the recipe. YUM!! And everyone I served them to loved them too! I may switch out the cheeses next time .. mozz, provalone, cheddar, oh the possibilities! Thanks for the GREAT recipe! Good, quick and easy - who wouldn't love THAT? !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Logsdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I took the advice of the person that submitted the recipe and baked the phyllo cups first...great outcome!! The ONLY thing I did different was that I put in two or three cloves of garlic and that's because I LOVE garlic. These flew off the table. I will definitely double it next party!!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
These were great and a huge hit! I made pretty much as directly but added some Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I know this is my recipe but I wanted to give a tip. If you like yours a little crispier bake the tart cups for about 5 min before you fill them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokey Sausage Cups

See how to make sausage in bite-size Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry cups.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States