Sausage and Mushroom Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made these yesterday for lunch they were really good! I used turkey sausage since it's what I already had, also used fresh mushrooms instead of canned since we like fresh more. Saved my sauce for dipping, didn't use any on the inside. Had some whole wheat pizza dough already thawed and used that instead of the bread dough. Very versatile recipe that can be changed to use what you have on hand. Will definitely make these again, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I'm going to review this recipe as written {Gasp!!} I'm giving it four stars, because the Bob Evans Italian Sausage made the calzones extremely greasy. Next time I make it I will use leaner sausage. Aside from that it was very tasty, I will make it again, but with different sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Excellent! You can make this anyway to you liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was so much easier than i thought it would be and my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was so good! I used fresh, refrigerated pizza dough, and sauteed the mushrooms in a little butter and olive oil beforehand. And at the suggestion of another reviewer, after baking them for 20 minutes I brushed some olive oil on the top of them then sprinkled with some Parmesan, and baked them for another 3 or 4 minutes. I had a tough time keeping the calzones pressed together, so I used a couple toothpicks each to keep them secured so they wouldn't fall apart. These were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Loved it. Followed recipe as is. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This turned out fantastic! My husband and my two boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
These were a great and quick meal. I let my dough thaw overnight. Then, as I prepared my sides, I let it rise. I also added sauteed peppers, garlic and onions, and pepperoni. I served the pizza sauce on the side for dipping. It was Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Next time will sauté onions with the sausage and use fresh mushrooms, use a bit more mozzarella mixed with a little ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
We left out the mushrooms and in one calzone I substituted black olives instead of sausage. Both were awesome and my husband absolutely loved them. This will be one of our permanent staples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaD

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States