Sausage and Mushroom Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I love this filling, it is full of flavor. I use Rhodes frozen bread dough, it is easy to roll out and tastes so close to homemade. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Simple and easy to make! I used turkey sausage, skim mozzarella, mushrooms and diced tomatoes w/ garlic & onion as the filling and Pillsbury pizza dough as the crust. They turned out great and were a big hit with my family! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LukesMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Robesonia, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Used this ingredient list to make a witch's hat shaped calzone with pepperoni. Yum! My husband doesn't like tomatoes so this was great! Best of both worlds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This turned out fantastic! My husband and my two boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
These were a great and quick meal. I let my dough thaw overnight. Then, as I prepared my sides, I let it rise. I also added sauteed peppers, garlic and onions, and pepperoni. I served the pizza sauce on the side for dipping. It was Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
These calzones were SOOO good. I used awesome-tasting Jennie-O hot Italian turkey sausage for a leaner calzone, and sautéed fresh white mushrooms in olive oil with freshly minced garlic and Italian seasoning (instead of jarred mushrooms). I also used Rhode's frozen bread dough like the previous rater suggested (delicious). Toward the end of the baking time, I brushed the tops of the zones with olive oil and parmesan cheese. I baked them a little longer, until they were golden brown. My fiancé LOVED them and the way our apartment smelled while they were baking :). He bragged about them at work the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluv2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Excellent recipe! Tastes great!! I made them with my boyfriend and we added more pizza toppings and veggies. Whatever you put on a pizza you can put in this calzone and it will be amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I made these on Sunday when I make my other meals for the week. It was a little difficult to roll out the dough but that could just be me:) I froze them (pre-baked) and we ate them on Weds. They were fantastic! I only wish I could find frozen wheat dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Added some chopped green pepper to this and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
OMG, these were amazing! I didn't have any pizza sauce on hand so I had to make up my own using some fresh herbs and tomato sauce and paste. Yum! Even my picky 3 yr old ate his up and wanted seconds! I think this is a great base recipe, bc you can always sub pepperoni instead of the sausage and use other veggy's if you don't like mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States