Sausage and Mushroom Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Using bread dough was an interesting inspiration - made a softer crust. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Very good but i left the pizza sauce out and just used to dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
These were good. Basically you can put whatever you want in the calzone just like you would on a pizza. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I used sausage flavored "veggie-meat" made of soy and I used 8 oz of fresh mushrooms. I also used wheat Rhodes frozen dough. These were tasty, although as more of a pepperoni fan when it comes to pizza and calzones, I will try that instead for the filler next time. Great idea and the dough works perfect! Just wanted to add, I've now tried these with pepperoni and I left the sauce out and instead dip each bite into pizza sauce on the side. I use Italian blend shredded cheese and would give this version a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Awesome! I used the Rhodes frozen bread dough as well. The hardest part was rolling out the dough so I wound up cutting the dough in half and only working with half of the loaf at a time. I used LOTS of flour to cut down on the stickiness. Will definitely add into our recipe rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinMichele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was very easy and delicious. One Calzone was too much for one person. It feeds twice as many people as the recipe claims. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
OMG, these were amazing! I didn't have any pizza sauce on hand so I had to make up my own using some fresh herbs and tomato sauce and paste. Yum! Even my picky 3 yr old ate his up and wanted seconds! I think this is a great base recipe, bc you can always sub pepperoni instead of the sausage and use other veggy's if you don't like mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
First time I've worked with frozen bread dough - ugh...not easy (seems you really need a rolling pin). To thaw quick, I placed the frozen loaf in a closed bag into hot water in the sink - thawed in minutes. Used fresh mushrooms, red, green peppers diced and sauteed in olive oil. Put this together with browned mild Italian sausage meat (cooked up with garlic powder & Italian seasoning). Really messy with the floured counter top but eventually got the mixture into the bread. Once the calzones were in the oven - I noticed I forgot the cheese! Put the cheese on the top of each calzone. Got kudos on the great taste. Next time should be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Added some chopped green pepper to this and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I made these on Sunday when I make my other meals for the week. It was a little difficult to roll out the dough but that could just be me:) I froze them (pre-baked) and we ate them on Weds. They were fantastic! I only wish I could find frozen wheat dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States