Sausage and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I love this recipe. When I make it I use an Italian loaf bread that I cut into cubes. I grease a 9x13 pan and put cubed bread on on bottom of pan ( generally it takes about 3/4 of the loaf). Next I put the sausage (which I cooked with onion) on top of the bread followed by the cheese. Since the bread I am using is much bulkier I usually use at least 10 eggs and more milk. I pour this over the layered casserole slowly until it soaks all the way through. If you think you need more egg and liquid you can add more. I put it in the fridge overnight and voila its a wonderful strata that everyone enjoys! Happy brunching y'all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleenreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This has been a go-to recipe for me since I found it years ago! I've tried different recipes but it's our favorite and absolutely delicious!! I stick to the recipe, but sometimes throw in 6 more eggs if we are feeding a few more - doesn't really change anything! I love to throw some veggies in too - green peppers, onions, tomatoes... LOVE this recipe! I usually bake for an hour so it's not mushy. (Note: I've also made this the same morning and threw it in the oven right away - just as yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This is my go-to breakfast casserole. I've made it late on Christmas Eve more than once! We sometimes vary the meat or cheese, or add some extra eggs for a bigger crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Bacon instead of sausage also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Delicious. Needed longer cooking time than mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
My houseguests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CupcakePolly
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
pretty good. Tasted more like french toast with sausage. Ate with syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I used leftover homemade dinner rolls instead of bread. That worked. I froze the leftovers for a month then thawed in the fridge then microwaved it. It tasted as good as it did when it came out of the oven a month ago. I don't have to wait until I get a crowd, to make it anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by North Bass Bud

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This recipe is the best breakfast casserole I have found yet. I had left over biscuits, so I used them instead of bread. This one will be in my recipe box to hand down to my daughters! I am tripleing the recipe today to make and freeze for a quick delicious breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrsmiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Liberty, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Basic and delisious! I made it for dinner. We like the occasional breakfast for dinner thing. I only added 1 extra egg and chopped up green peppers and onion powder with my sausage. Wonderful! Also great breakfast leftover the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States