Sausage and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is a good casserole! I have made it twice. The first time I refrigerated it overnight before cooking. The second time, I let the egg, cheese, and milk mixture set while I fried the sausage. Then I added the sausage after I cooked it and popped it in the oven. Both ways turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
My family loves this! I usually don't make it ahead so I use less milk and more bread. Wonderful, basic breakfast casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland Gap, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Lewis
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Perfect comfort food! I didn't have ground mustard so I mixed spicy brown mustard in with the sausage. Turned out fluffy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appling, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bedford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
The mustard was a bit much. I used half the second time. To be a 5 you will have to put your own spin on it. But, this is a simple & tasty dish and great for a breakfast potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was really good. I also cheated and baked it as soon as I assembled it. I will probably let it sit over night next time, as it did turn out a little soggy in the middle even though I baked it for about an hour.I just microwaved those pieces... lol. It was still good though. I used lean sausage links, fried and cut into pieces. I also did not have any bread, so I used 3 whole wheat bagels cut into cubes. I will definitely use the bagels again next time I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Pretty good breakfast casserole. Didn't change much, just used maple sausage and sourdough bread. Maybe next time I'll add some sauteed spinach and mushrooms, or some other veggies. I also halved the recipe (there's only the two of us), and baked in a glass 8x8 dish, and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
After all the wonderful reviews, I was surprised to find that I really didn't care for the overall dish. All the flavors were certainly there, but the "crust" was a little funky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Great recipe for a crowd. I had 18 people staying over for Thanksgiving, and knew I would not want to be making breakfast on Thanksgiving morning while trying to get dinner ready. I doubled the recipe, put everything together the night before, baked the pans in the morning and had a tasty hot breakfast for everyone. I used what I had on hand, which were Hawaiian sweet rolls instead of bread slices, and regular yellow mustard. My grocery store only had sage sausage, but it was super yummy and a nice complement to the recipe. You could also change this recipe up a lot depending on you and your family's preferences. Excellent as is or as a base for your creative breakfast ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this with turkey sausage for less fat, then added about a teaspoon of Italian seasoning for better flavor. It freezes well, but does not warm up well in the microwave (heats unevenly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Great recipe! I've used this one for years. We messed up one year and bought maple sausage instead of plain and have been using maple since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States