Sausage and Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Delish! My family loved this. My daughter ate some of cornbread so I added 3 ciabatta rolls cut into cubes and dried them out in the oven. I was worried the crumbled cornbread wouldn't have enough texture for my taste. I also used turkey breakfast sausage in place of the pork because I did not want it to be spicy. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brown434
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I used sweet turkey Italian sausage instead of spicy sausage and I crumbled fresh biscuits along with the cornbread. I used a little celery salt instead of regular salt and added an additional cup of broth. This dressing was awesome, it only made it one day. I'll definitely me making this again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Cooked for Thanksgiving yesterday and it is the best dressing I've ever made. Made the night before and smelled great, but the flavor was even better the next day. Will be on our list for future needs for sure. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Made this gultin free by making the cornbread from scratch. Using plain cornmeal & King Aurther Gluten Free Flour Blend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I've been making this recipe every Thanksgiving for years. I always use a crock pot and it is fine. It is a hit, so I don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I would give this 3.5 stars if that was an option. I wanted to love this, but it needs some work. Way too dry. I tried maple sausage as some suggested and I wish I had used spicy. The maple sausage just made it too sweet for my liking. The flavor was good, so with some tweaks this could be a great dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I probably messed this up, but did not love this stuffing. It was mushy and bland. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Unger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I only give 4 stars because I didn't actually eat any, I took it to work for Christmas last year, but had to leave sick before we ate. I heard it was good, it looked good, and was very easy to make. I am making it again tomorrow for our dinner this year. I will check back after I get some of it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was SO good. The only thing I wish I would've done was add a little more chicken broth and butter. I halved the recipe so I used a square baking dish. I'm pretty sure it's an 8 inch square dish. I reduced the bake time because the 8 inch square dish is still a little larger than half a 9x13 dish. However, I don't think that had to do with it being a little too dry for my taste. The mixture itself did seem a little dry. I also left out the apples because I don't care for them much in my dressing. I will definitely be making this again, but just with a little more butter and chicken broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I make this for thanksgiving every year and get requested to make it! I don't make any alterations to the recipe either. Sometimes i'll try and get the jimmy dean sage sausage if its available, but regular works just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States