Sausage and Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I'm the only one in my family that easts cornbread dressing. I followed the recipe to the letter. As you can imagine it made far too much for one person. I cut the left over dressing in to small sections and froze them. I'm pleased to say they freeze well and heat up nicely. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Wonderful...just like granny's except for the sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
EXCELLENT RECIPE AS STATED. THE ONLY THING I DID DIFFRENT WAS TO BAKE THE CORN BREAD MIX IN A 9X13 BAKING DISH THEN SLICED IT INTO 1 INCH CUBES AND FLUFFED WITH A FORK AFTER IT COOLED. I THINK IT GAVE THE DISH A BETTER VISUAL EFFECT RATHER THEN CRUMBLING THE CORN BREAD INTO A BOWL AS THE RECIPE STATES. WILL DEFINATELY MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
FABULOUS!!! I made it for the first time for Thanksgiving and my family LOVED it!! Hubby has requested we stick to this recipe! I used sweet italian bulk sausage, because that's what I had on hand and I wasn't tryin to make a trip to the store the day before Thanksgiving!! LOL I used poultry seasonings instead of individual spices (again, thats what I had on hand) which worked LOVELY! I didn't measure, I just dumped some in! I also used some of the turkey drippings instead of chicken broth and I omitted the butter (out of sheer forgetfulness) I will experiment with adding an egg and more broth next time because it was a bit dry for my taste. DEFINITELY a 'keeper recipe' Thanks!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I liked this very much. I used pork sausage with sage but added only one teaspoon of the rubbed sage. I only had one apple to use and I used two cups of chicken broth. The rest of the ingredients as stated. Very good compliments and I will make time and again. Thanks for the very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Very good, very similar to my great aunt's recipe! I baked Bob's Red Mill gluten free corn bread, let cool and then cut into 1/2" pieces and crumbled a bit. To make this like my aunt's stuffing, I did make the following changes: 1) 1 onion, 2) added a cup of pre-made wild rice, 3) added one beaten egg to the liquid mixture, 4) used mild itallian sauage. My aunt usually chops a can or two of mushrooms and adds this to the saute mix. Also, her base is Stove Top Stuffing (traditional) made as directed on the box. She does added extra sage and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner. It was the star of the meal!! Made exactly as stated but halfed the recipe and couple minor adjustments. Omitted the oil since sausage had plenty once cooked, added 1 beaten egg, added full amount of broth 3/4 c. for half recipe. Came out wonderful with the spiciness of the sausage and the sweetness of the cornbread and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Great recipe!!! I used turkey sausage, added a box of stuffing, cream of mushroom, cream of celery, and quadrupled the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I found the original recipe to be a bit sweet, so the next time I made it, I decreased the apples to 1 apple and increased the sausage to 2 lbs of sausage. This did the trick. The dressing was the perfect combination of sweet, spicy and meaty. My in-laws were raving about the dish during last year's Thanksgiving and it was also approved my my critical mother during the following Christmas dinner where I used it as the stuffing for my Cornish Hens. I will definite use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is a very delicious dressing! I've made it twice now and my husband has loved it each time. When I made it for thanksgiving I added some ground turkey to give extra meat and I used maple flavored pork sausage to add to the sweetness. Everyone loved it at Thanksgiving and I find myself craving it often. Really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States