Sausage and Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Thank you for the best cornbread dressing recipe! I searched and ended up using this recipe and it was so delicious. I did use Jimmy Dean's maple sausage which was very good and I used some homemade cornbread with real corn in it and some jiffy mix cornbread. I also made one and a half of the recipe and we ate it all. I still baked it in a 9x13 pan. I'm not sure just making the normal recipe would've fed us all. That was my only regret, I didn't have any leftovers...the 15 of us devoured it. The amount of spices is perfect; I did add extra broth...just preference. I prepared the stuffing (w/o the broth and spices) the day before and added those items on Thanksgiving and baked. This is my cornbread stuffing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This dressing is the best EVER! My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Excellent! Didn't have apples, so I used firm pears; omitted celery; reduced to 8 servings and still used a full lb of sausage... wonderful! Will make this again and again! Thanks! Update: made again this year exactly as recipe called for... this is delish! All four kids - ages 2 to 13 - eat it up and ask for more! My husband loves it and he doesn't hesitate to complain! Ha! We love this stuffing! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. I have used my recipe for dressing for years and always thought it was pretty good. Today, I was looking for something a little different to go with baked pork chops and came across this recipe. Gave it a try, and sure glad I did. The seasonings were perfect. I'll trash my old recipe and stick with this one from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I'm the only one in my family that easts cornbread dressing. I followed the recipe to the letter. As you can imagine it made far too much for one person. I cut the left over dressing in to small sections and froze them. I'm pleased to say they freeze well and heat up nicely. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Wonderful...just like granny's except for the sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
EXCELLENT RECIPE AS STATED. THE ONLY THING I DID DIFFRENT WAS TO BAKE THE CORN BREAD MIX IN A 9X13 BAKING DISH THEN SLICED IT INTO 1 INCH CUBES AND FLUFFED WITH A FORK AFTER IT COOLED. I THINK IT GAVE THE DISH A BETTER VISUAL EFFECT RATHER THEN CRUMBLING THE CORN BREAD INTO A BOWL AS THE RECIPE STATES. WILL DEFINATELY MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
FABULOUS!!! I made it for the first time for Thanksgiving and my family LOVED it!! Hubby has requested we stick to this recipe! I used sweet italian bulk sausage, because that's what I had on hand and I wasn't tryin to make a trip to the store the day before Thanksgiving!! LOL I used poultry seasonings instead of individual spices (again, thats what I had on hand) which worked LOVELY! I didn't measure, I just dumped some in! I also used some of the turkey drippings instead of chicken broth and I omitted the butter (out of sheer forgetfulness) I will experiment with adding an egg and more broth next time because it was a bit dry for my taste. DEFINITELY a 'keeper recipe' Thanks!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I liked this very much. I used pork sausage with sage but added only one teaspoon of the rubbed sage. I only had one apple to use and I used two cups of chicken broth. The rest of the ingredients as stated. Very good compliments and I will make time and again. Thanks for the very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Very good, very similar to my great aunt's recipe! I baked Bob's Red Mill gluten free corn bread, let cool and then cut into 1/2" pieces and crumbled a bit. To make this like my aunt's stuffing, I did make the following changes: 1) 1 onion, 2) added a cup of pre-made wild rice, 3) added one beaten egg to the liquid mixture, 4) used mild itallian sauage. My aunt usually chops a can or two of mushrooms and adds this to the saute mix. Also, her base is Stove Top Stuffing (traditional) made as directed on the box. She does added extra sage and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States