Sausage and Bean Slow Cooker Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I left out the spicy stuff and used my homemade broth and a few drops of green tabasco. Also cooked the carrots in it before adding to pot to save a few hours off the cooking time. I also used black beans instead of garbanzo. This was yummy and quite versatile. Don't even need the recipe for next time. Easy to cut in half for dinner for two. Can't wait to add some celery and experiment with herbs next time! Fantastic! Can't thank you enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I made a few substitutions (changed out Tobasco for Crystal Hot Sauce and Turkey Sausage for Pork Sausage Links). While I've never been much of a fan of chickpeas, this is an excellent recipe. There's plenty of leftovers for a couple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
A great easy recipe for a cold winter night ~ I did use Jimmy Dean sausage crumbles in place of the sausage slices. I used fire roasted chopped tomatoes and increased the stock to 2 cups. I also added 1/2 cup of anellini pasta uncooked to the crockpot for the last two hours of cooking. A nice filling dinner for a hungry family ~ thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I made a few changes but this is an awesome recipe. I used smoke onion and pepper sausage. Instead of garbanzo beans, I used cannelloni beans. I didn't add in the carrots, tomato puree or the hot pepper sauce. It was so tasty and it's a hit every time I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angerose1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I really liked this recipe! I changed a few ingredients just because I didn't have them. I was out of garbanzo beans, so I used great northern beans instead and omitted the tomato paste because I didn't have that either. I used hot smoked sausage, threw in a dash of garlic, some cayenne and some chilies for extra spice as well as 2 cups of beef stock. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. At the last minute I decided to throw in some rotini, so I'm glad I used extra broth. I thought this was soooooo tasty, but my boyfriend said it was "missing something". Next time I'll try it with the garbanzo beans, I think they would've been better. Either way, I loved it. This is a very flexible recipe and even though it doesn't look like a lot of food, it's very filling. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daytripperrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I made a few changes to the recipe. I couldn't find pork sausage links so I ended up chopping up some kielbasa (which tasted fabulous). After I combined all ingrediants, I simmered on the stove instead of the crockpot and it turned out FABULOUS! I accidently omitted the tomato puree, but we couldn't tell the difference. I added two cups of beef stock since I cooked it on the stove to prevent it from being too thick. I will make this again. It was super easy and quick and my family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was very good. The only reason why I gave it 4 is because I added stuff to it. I added a can of white beans and jar of green chili's. We also said you could easily add peppers of any kind to it to add more flavor, but it was VERY good and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
The broth was tasty. So much so, that I would want to double it. Adding rotini pasta might be tasty. Having the sausages cut to 1 1/2 inch to 2 inch pieces to too big. Instead, try three quarters of an inch. Siracha in place of Tabasco adds a better quality spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States