Sausage and Bean Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This recipe was AWESOME. It was so good that my husband went back to the leftovers just 1.5 hours after dinner! I did make some minor changes based on what I had in the house (parm instead of romano like the other reviewers), but the big change I made was to use kale instead of spinach. I would definitely recommend the kale -- its not as wilty as spinach, holds up better in leftovers, and adds a nice different bit of texture to the dish. Also, I did keep the amount of meat recommended in the recipe, and would definitely do both the sausage and ground beef. It's meaty, but oh so good (and I'm not a huge meat person)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
delicious! so flavorful & hearty. I omitted the ground beef-it would have been too much meat, and probably would have changed the flavor - believe me, it doesnt need it. Also substituted light red kidney beans and parmesean cheese. It's a favorite of ours now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This turned out really well, even with my "healthier" adjustments. I'm quite surprized. I used one pound ground turkey instead of ground beef and I used all organic chicken broth. I did not have white kidney beans but I did have organic chickpeas, which I used in their place. I did not have fresh basil so I used a good measure of dried basil. Because I'm watching my carbs, I used about a cup or so of cauliflower instead of pasta that I cooked in the same organic chicken broth that I used in the soup. After tasting it, I added about a teaspoon or so of crushed red pepper flake. Really surprizingly good and really great using pantry items I already had on hand. NOTE: I did use almost all organic ingredients where I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Very yummy! Liked it better without the ground beef; used Parmesan cheese I had on hand. Note: Do NOT use more than 1/2 pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
My Mom gave me this recipe last year, she get it in an email from Cambell's Kitchen and it is my favorite soup in the world. Since the first time I made it, my roommates refer to is simply as 'the soup'. The only change I make is that I use dried basil instead of fresh, simply because its easier. This is a wonderful winter soup that is delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Fabulous. I doubled the sausage and omitted the beef. Used one 28 oz. can of plum tomatoes that I had immulsified with a hand blender and added fresh thyme, parsley, basil and dry oregano. Simmered until thickened and then added the pasta. Couldn't stop eating it and kids/hubby also gave it two thumbs up. Made it a second time w/ half italian sausage and half ground turkey. Great too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Like another reviewer, I read a story in Real Simple magazine and this dish sounded so good that I came online to find a recipe. I'm so glad that I found this one! The only changes that I made were to use pinto beans instead of white kidney, dry basil instead of fresh, and a good parmesan instead of the Romano. I thought it would be too much meat, but it's definitely not! My husband and my dad loved it as well. So flavorful and delicious! Give it a try; you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I've had some soup recipes that I've made over and over again on this site. This recipe is a TRUE WINNER. So much flavor, love the hardiness... perfect on a cold evening. I used mild and hot sausage, and a half pound of GB. Next time, I will leave it out. I didn't have flavored tomatoes, just used plain diced ones. Still came out GREAT! I will be making this a lot more in the future. So HAPPY I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
The textures and flavors of the ingredients blend well to make this a tasty dish. I too omitted the ground beef as others had - the sausage was plenty of meat. I used beef broth instead of chicken and parm cheese instead of romano simply because that's what I had on hand. This recipe will be going into my "family favorites" folder to be used again on another cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
We really enjoyed this recipe. I used one pkg. of lean turkey sausages (mild Italian flavor, about 5), and ommitted the beef. I used sodium reduced broth and sodium free tomatoes. I put the fresh spinach in the bowl, then poured the hot soup over the spinach, as some people don't like spinach in their soup. I was tempted to add some bell peppers, but it tasted perfect as is...will definetly make again. I served it with naan bread for dipping. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Cranberry Bean Ragout

See Chef John’s delicious take on homemade pork and beans.

Cranberry Bean Ragout

See how to make a simple cranberry bean and fresh corn ragout.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States