Sausage and Bean Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
SO good. I was very proud of this delicious meal. Can't wait to make it again. We made it in the summer, but it would be a perfect wintery warm stew. Thanks for posting this!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlene
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Added a bit of carrots and few tablespoons of pureed tomatoes. It adds up more color and tastes good too. Didn't have canned tomatoes but chopped up 1 fresh tomato and no cheese either.It's quite rich without the cheese. Turned out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is a wonderfully hearty dish, especially in the winter when you need something to warm you to your toes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Excellent; I had to make only a couple minor adjustments. First, I needed to use mild sausage, as I'm the only one in my house who likes "hot" (though I suspect, when mixed with the hamburger, it may contribute more flavor and not be too much for the heat-adverse). Second, I only had one can of the diced tomatoes as described, so for my second can, I used stewed tomatoes with the same spices (and cut the pieces up smaller). OH MY GOSH, as I'm typing this and reviewing the ingredients, I realized I forgot the spinach. Argh! Okay, well, it's great without it. (Update: SO I snuck in kale instead of spinach, as one reviewer suggested. It was exceptional.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenpete
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
The best - need a little more spice but ummm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Fantastic ! The only thing different I did was use turkey sausage and an extra can of broth (fat free). Just wonderfu, thank you so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Brown-Bergmann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I used MOST of this recipe, based on what I had on hand. It was great! I only had about 1/4 pound of Italian sausage, no fresh basil (dried), no fresh spinach (frozen), and Parmesan versus Romano. I added a dash of crushed red pepper flakes, some kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper. Still, it was great with substitutions. I think this is a very forgiving recipe for adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisPixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
My family loved this. My husband ate it up all night long. My father in law loved it so much He didn't talk. I almost forgot he was in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie Pauni Latapu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was fantastic! So tasty and satisfying. You don't need oil at the beginning-the meats will have enough (even lean ground beef). I used dried basil and 2/3 cup dried white navy beans (2 cups after I cooked them). I omitted the pasta and cheese (not in the diet). I also confused my grocery list and ended up with 1 plain can of diced tomatoes, so I used one seasoned and one plain and just sprinkled in some extra oregano (didn't think it needed more basil or garlic :P). This had so much flavor and tasted great days later and even after being frozen and defrosted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Cranberry Bean Ragout

See Chef John’s delicious take on homemade pork and beans.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Cranberry Bean Ragout

See how to make a simple cranberry bean and fresh corn ragout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States