Sausage and Bean Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
A hearty and flavorful soup. Tweaked the recipe a bit by adding two thinly sliced fresh jalapenos in step 2. We used a 10 oz. tub of fresh spinach instead of 6 oz, 1 cup pasta instead of 1/2 cup, and subbed Parmesan cheese for Romano. If making again, we would leave out the ground beef as others suggested or sub small chunks of beef or chicken instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Use 3/4 less cumin and stewed tomatoes as directed and not pureed tomatoes. Also recommend using red kidney beans and 1/4 cup extra on noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
What's not to like? Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Totally flavorless until I added A LOT more seasoning. Followed the recipe exactly and found it to be very bland. Had to doctor it up with lots more dried basil and added dried oregano, bay leaf and garlic powder, as well as black pepper. Probably will not make again. Kids wouldn't touch it. Also looks unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is amazing! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using mild Italian sausage instead of hot because my husband doesn't like spicy. It has wonderful flavor! It does thicken up quite a bit after being refrigerated overnight, so I think I will add more broth next time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I thought this was really good and even my 9 year old loved it. I used ground pork and added Italian seasonings and some chili powder. Also used Parmesan instead of Romano cheese. I will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angeldylanluke
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Made this tonight.....kept it pretty much similar, except I didn;t add ground beef. It doesn't need it....Oh, and I added Carrots....more for color, but they're perfect in it. Will be saving this for the future!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldylanluke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I think the ratio of meat, beans, pasta and spinach is simply perfect. Love the taste and ease of making this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I don't know what it was but we did not like this. It seemed like there a flavor missing. I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This soup is great! I don't think there is too much meat at all. I don't like really spicy so I only added 1/2 lb of hot sausage and replaced the other half with more ground meat. I also used dried basil and italian seasoning. Excellent! will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Cranberry Bean Ragout

See Chef John’s delicious take on homemade pork and beans.

Cranberry Bean Ragout

See how to make a simple cranberry bean and fresh corn ragout.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States