Sausage and Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was so MOIST and FLAVORFUL!! The apple adds a touch of sweetness and the sausage is savory. I didn't add the water chestnuts (didn't have). I also used low sodium box vegetable broth in place of the water. I halved the recipe and want to make again but hubby doesn't like apples in his "traditional style" cornbread dressing! My kids and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made the stuffing for christmas dinner and everyone loved it. I left out the waterchestnuts. I think next time i will add more sausage because i didn't really taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I was disappointed because this turned out to be bland. I think next time I'll use maple flavored breakfast sausage to complement the apples. I actually ended up adding a little maple syrup to the stuffing to give it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I tried this minus the waterchestnut, and added raisins and a little chicken broth & this was such a hit at Thanksgiving, that I'm making it again for Christmas! Very simple to make. Most definitley a new family tradition for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESANICOYA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Absolutely the BEST stuffing we have ever had! Even people who "don't like fruit in stuffing" really enjoyed this. Used 2 cups apple (half sweet and half tart), a 14 oz bag pepperidge farms herbed cubes. Also used a can of light, fat free chicken stock to replace most of the water to prepare stuffing. Would be awesome baked on pork chops. Wonderful recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
My guests all enjoyed the stuffing! I will hold onto this recipe as a favorite! Yum! I liked the sausage with the sweet tart goodness of the apple! Delicious! I used cubed breadcrumbs, and will use that style again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Pretty good. I had never had apple and sausage stuffing before and I enjoyed the flavor. I used almonds instead of water chestnuts, because hubby doesn't like water chestnuts. Next time I will use water chestnuts and make hubby pick them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Krizan Reale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
The stuffing was the best part of Thanksgiving. It has a nice sweet flavor that enhances the traditional savory dishes nicely. It did not keep beyond the second day of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Very good- everyone loved it! You can add more apples if you want, it makes it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This was a HUGE hit at Thanksgiving! It was my first time making any type of stuffing - and I choose the perfect one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States