Sausage and Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
The bottom was too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicavermilye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Would give 4-1/2 stars. The directions are a bit contradictory as my Pepperidge Farm (sage/onion) dry stuffing mix directions called for chicken broth, butter, onions & celery to prepare. So, all I additionally added was 1 Honey Crisp apple, 1 - 7 oz box of maple flavor turkey sausage (cooked and crumbled) and a handful of toasted coursely chopped walnuts. Didn't have water chestnuts on hand. Added fresh grnd pepper and a bit of fresh grated nutmeg. I bake as a side dish as I don't stuff my turkey. Cooked covered for 30 minutes then stirred it around. Baked for another 15 min uncovered or until top a bit browned . I would add more sausage next time as it wasn't noticable. Otherwise...good idea you can fiddle around with. Oh, can be prepared a day ahead and refrigerated (covered). Bring to room temp before baking or it will need longer cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Really good! I did have to add a little more stock because it didnt seem moist enough but it turned out great. I gave the recipe to a few people because they liked it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Choctaw, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Yummy! Big hit with the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My husband and I wanted to stuff our turkey with this for Thanksgiving this year but unfortunately it was a "dish" stuffing. We cut the apples down to 2 and still feel it was a bit much. We used Jimmy Dean maple flavor breakfast sausage and it added a really nice flavor. We will be using the recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I added a handful of chopped walnuts and got very tasty results. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HugBug01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
i dont normally use many convenience products in my cooking but i only had 1 day notice to throw thanksgiving and this looked good. i loved the apples in this and i was able to use venison sausage from the freezer. everyone raved about it and said it was the best they ever had. i thought you could taste that it was stove top but it was still pretty good. great last minute side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Everyone really really loved this, and I thought it was pretty dang tasty, even me, who dislikes sausage. I made this pretty close to as written, however I did include more celery and onion - closer to 3/4 C celery and 1/2 C onion (diced VERY finely), I omitted the water chestnuts (forgot them at the store!! oops...) and used Granny Smith apples. It was requested that I bring this again next year... Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Made this today for the Thanksgiving feast and it got rave reviews, even from my mom who usually does not like stuffing. I used Zatarain's stuffing for the base to add some spice (one package of the cornbread and one package of the french bread, so we had different textures) & followed the suggestions of other posters and cooked the stuffing part in chicken broth part in water. Since my husband hates celery I used crushed almonds instead, and for apples I used Gala apples which gave it a bit of a sweet to offset the spiciness of the stuffing. The sausage was J.C. Potter regular, and the consensus was anything else would have been too much with that combination. It took a while to prep but was VERY worth it, and I could not be more pleased. I already have requests to make this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I made this last year and added slivered almonds to the mix. It was the perfect addition (I think walnuts or another nut would also be great)! This recipe is definitely a keeper! We will absolutely be having it this Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States