Sausage and Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Really good! I did have to add a little more stock because it didnt seem moist enough but it turned out great. I gave the recipe to a few people because they liked it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Choctaw, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Yummy! Big hit with the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My husband and I wanted to stuff our turkey with this for Thanksgiving this year but unfortunately it was a "dish" stuffing. We cut the apples down to 2 and still feel it was a bit much. We used Jimmy Dean maple flavor breakfast sausage and it added a really nice flavor. We will be using the recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I added a handful of chopped walnuts and got very tasty results. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HugBug01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
i dont normally use many convenience products in my cooking but i only had 1 day notice to throw thanksgiving and this looked good. i loved the apples in this and i was able to use venison sausage from the freezer. everyone raved about it and said it was the best they ever had. i thought you could taste that it was stove top but it was still pretty good. great last minute side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Everyone really really loved this, and I thought it was pretty dang tasty, even me, who dislikes sausage. I made this pretty close to as written, however I did include more celery and onion - closer to 3/4 C celery and 1/2 C onion (diced VERY finely), I omitted the water chestnuts (forgot them at the store!! oops...) and used Granny Smith apples. It was requested that I bring this again next year... Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Made this today for the Thanksgiving feast and it got rave reviews, even from my mom who usually does not like stuffing. I used Zatarain's stuffing for the base to add some spice (one package of the cornbread and one package of the french bread, so we had different textures) & followed the suggestions of other posters and cooked the stuffing part in chicken broth part in water. Since my husband hates celery I used crushed almonds instead, and for apples I used Gala apples which gave it a bit of a sweet to offset the spiciness of the stuffing. The sausage was J.C. Potter regular, and the consensus was anything else would have been too much with that combination. It took a while to prep but was VERY worth it, and I could not be more pleased. I already have requests to make this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I made this last year and added slivered almonds to the mix. It was the perfect addition (I think walnuts or another nut would also be great)! This recipe is definitely a keeper! We will absolutely be having it this Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I use Jimmy Dean's Sage Breakfast sausage, and I add the apples (1 granny smith, 1 gala apple) to the celery/onion mix when I'm sauteeing. I use real butter and a little bit of the sausage grease to cook the celery mix. Also, I double the sausage, celery and onion amounts, take out the chestnuts, add a handful of orange flavored craisins and/or chopped nuts. Using broth is better too (low sodium). This is the best stuffing ever. I'm going to try it in the slow cooker this year. My family LOVES this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I trippled this recipe and made it last year for Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it so much that I came on here to find it again. I followed the recipe exactly, except for the water chestnuts, and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States