Sausage and Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was so MOIST and FLAVORFUL!! The apple adds a touch of sweetness and the sausage is savory. I didn't add the water chestnuts (didn't have). I also used low sodium box vegetable broth in place of the water. I halved the recipe and want to make again but hubby doesn't like apples in his "traditional style" cornbread dressing! My kids and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made the stuffing for christmas dinner and everyone loved it. I left out the waterchestnuts. I think next time i will add more sausage because i didn't really taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I was disappointed because this turned out to be bland. I think next time I'll use maple flavored breakfast sausage to complement the apples. I actually ended up adding a little maple syrup to the stuffing to give it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I tried this minus the waterchestnut, and added raisins and a little chicken broth & this was such a hit at Thanksgiving, that I'm making it again for Christmas! Very simple to make. Most definitley a new family tradition for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESANICOYA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Absolutely the BEST stuffing we have ever had! Even people who "don't like fruit in stuffing" really enjoyed this. Used 2 cups apple (half sweet and half tart), a 14 oz bag pepperidge farms herbed cubes. Also used a can of light, fat free chicken stock to replace most of the water to prepare stuffing. Would be awesome baked on pork chops. Wonderful recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
My guests all enjoyed the stuffing! I will hold onto this recipe as a favorite! Yum! I liked the sausage with the sweet tart goodness of the apple! Delicious! I used cubed breadcrumbs, and will use that style again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Pretty good. I had never had apple and sausage stuffing before and I enjoyed the flavor. I used almonds instead of water chestnuts, because hubby doesn't like water chestnuts. Next time I will use water chestnuts and make hubby pick them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Krizan Reale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
The stuffing was the best part of Thanksgiving. It has a nice sweet flavor that enhances the traditional savory dishes nicely. It did not keep beyond the second day of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Very good- everyone loved it! You can add more apples if you want, it makes it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This was a HUGE hit at Thanksgiving! It was my first time making any type of stuffing - and I choose the perfect one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States