Sausage and Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This recipe is delicious!! It is a little on the heavy side, however, it is a must have at holiday dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I substituted turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meowza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this on Christmas Eve, and then again this week as cold weather comfort food. I substituted kielbasa for the sausage, which was delish! Browned it first. Also, I tend to add more onion and less water chesnuts and celery -- just personal taste. Both times, I chose not to add the whole third apple. BEST stuffing I've ever had -- love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I was looking for a stuffing to compare to the one my father made for years but that was easier and faster to make and this is the closest that I've come. So, for the past few Thanksgiving and Christmas this is the one we now have and and everybody loves it! I usually substitute turkey sausage for pork as I have some family members who don't eat pork and it still tastes great. I also add the apples to the saucepan with the celery mix for the last few minutes of cooking and sometimes substitue regular chestnuts for the water chestnuts if I happen to have them on hand. All in all a fantastic stuffing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I've helped my mom make sausage dressing since I was a little girl. This isn't the same recipe but it is as close as I can find. This is a great recipe, but don't make the same mistake that I did last year. I used Granny Smith apples and the tart flavor was not great. Definitely use sweet apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Really good! Nice and moist. I love how the heat of the sausage and sweetness of the apple work together. I added a little more celery and onion than called for after reading the reviews and I think that made it really good. I like the textures that the onions, celery, apples, and water chestnuts give it. Great!!!! I doubled the recipe and it all got ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Easton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This stuffing is so good! The only thing I would do differently next time is not use as many apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUCJOB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Circle Pines, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was so MOIST and FLAVORFUL!! The apple adds a touch of sweetness and the sausage is savory. I didn't add the water chestnuts (didn't have). I also used low sodium box vegetable broth in place of the water. I halved the recipe and want to make again but hubby doesn't like apples in his "traditional style" cornbread dressing! My kids and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made the stuffing for christmas dinner and everyone loved it. I left out the waterchestnuts. I think next time i will add more sausage because i didn't really taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I was disappointed because this turned out to be bland. I think next time I'll use maple flavored breakfast sausage to complement the apples. I actually ended up adding a little maple syrup to the stuffing to give it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States